Please select language
Back to the overview

BAUHAUS renovation: Max-Liebling House takes on the role of documentation centre

17.10.2019

German-Israeli cooperation in Tel Aviv moves to the next phase in 2020


In Spring, supported in their task by the non-profit Sto Foundation, German trainee plasterers and painters joined forces with Israeli trade professionals and students to renovate the listed facade of the BAUHAUS-style Max-Liebling House in Tel Aviv. On 19 September 2019 the building will then be officially handed over to assume its new role as a German-Israeli documentation, exchange and competence centre.


Konrad Richter, Foundation Council Member for Trades at the Sto Foundation, was excited about the successful project: "The successful workshop at the Max-Liebling House in Tel Aviv has shown just what can be achieved through cross-border cooperation. Working together, learning from each other, and organising their spare time together – that is our contribution to an open-minded society."


But there is more: A team comprised of two aspiring lecturers and three students at the vocational college in Wuppertal are planning to revisit Tel Aviv in Spring of next year. In cooperation with three Israeli painters, the plan for the next stage envisages renovation of the internal walls, ceilings, doors and window frames in line with building preservation guidelines.


Young craftspeople renovate the old facade


The renovation of the facade was planned as a youth camp that brings together young German and Israeli craftspeople. It is part of the "Open for Renovation" cooperative initiative that is being coordinated by the Federal Buildings Office (ABB) in Mainz as representative of the German government and the White City office in Tel Aviv. The non-profit Sto Foundation financed and organised the German-Israeli facade renovation workshop. The project is also supported by the vocational school in Leonberg, the competence centre for plasterers in Rutesheim and students of the seven vocational colleges in Germany.


A deeply symbolic world cultural heritage site


On the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations between Germany and Israel, which was celebrated in 2015, both governments agreed to the complete renovation of the Max-Liebling House in accordance with regulations for listed buildings. Jeramie Hoffmann, the head of Tel Aviv's office for the preservation of monuments and the architect in charge, summarised the purpose of the project: "The renovation of the Max-Liebling House is a symbol for the entire White City and its Bauhaus architecture: It facilitates greater public awareness of the city's cultural heritage."


The project is significant both from a cultural-historic aspect as well as from a structural engineering and intercultural perspective: 100 years of Bauhaus. The now renovated Max-Liebling House is one of approximately 4,000 residential buildings in the "White City" built in Tel Aviv after 1933 by Jewish Bauhaus architects from Germany. The buildings are a typical example of the "International style” characterised by Bauhaus elements and are now part of the UNESCO world cultural heritage. Approximately 2,000 buildings are listed.



Information on Tel Aviv's White City:www.whitecitycenter.org.

download the press release

Opening of the Max-Liebling-House in Tel Aviv

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

Bitte Sprache auswählen
zurück zur Übersicht

BAUHAUS-Sanierung: Max-Liebling-Haus wird Dokumentationszentrum

17.10.2019

Deutsch-israelisches Kooperationsprojekt in Tel Aviv geht 2020 in die nächste Runde


Im Frühjahr haben deutsche Stuckateur- und Maler-Azubis zusammen mit israelischen Handwerkern und Studenten die denkmalgeschützte Fassade des im Stil des BAUHAUS errichteten Max-Liebling-Hauses in Tel Aviv restauriert. Unterstützt wurden sie bei ihrer Arbeit von der gemeinnützigen Sto-Stiftung. Am 19. September 2019 wird das Gebäude nun offiziell seiner Bestimmung als deutsch-israelisches Dokumentations-, Vermittlungs- und Kompetenzzentrum übergeben.


Konrad Richter, Stiftungsrat Handwerk der Sto-Stiftung, freut sich über das gelungene Projekt: „Der erfolgreiche Workshop am Max-Liebling-Haus in Tel Aviv hat gezeigt, was über Ländergrenzen hinweg erreicht werden kann. Gemeinsam arbeiten, voneinander lernen, zusammen Freizeit gestalten, das ist unser Beitrag zu einer weltoffenen Gesellschaft.“


Doch damit nicht genug: Ein Team bestehend aus zwei angehenden Berufsschullehrern und drei Schülern der Maler-Fachschule in Wuppertal plant im Frühjahr kommenden Jahres wieder in Tel Aviv sein. Zusammen mit drei israelischen Malern sollen im nächsten Schritt auch im Innenraum Wände, Decken, Türen und Fensterrahmen denkmalschutzgerecht saniert werden.


Junge Handwerker erneuern alte Fassade


Die Sanierung der Fassade wurde als Jugendcamp konzipiert, das junge deutsche und israelische Handwerker zusammenführt. Sie ist Teil der Kooperation „Open for Renovation“, die vom Amt für Bundesbau (ABB) in Mainz als Vertretung der Bundesregierung und der Geschäftsstelle Weiße Stadt Tel Aviv koordiniert wird. Die gemeinnützige Sto-Stiftung finanzierte und organisierte den deutsch-israelischen Workshop zur Fassadensanierung. Unterstützung erhielt das Projekt auch durch die Berufsschule in Leonberg und das Kompetenzzentrum der Stuckateure in Rutesheim sowie von Fachschülern der sieben Fachschulen Deutschlands.


Symbolträchtiges Weltkulturerbe


Anlässlich des 50. Jahrestages der Aufnahme diplomatischer Beziehungen zwischen Deutschland und Israel, der 2015 begangen wurde, vereinbarten beide Regierungen die beispielhafte denkmalschutzgerechte Komplettsanierung des Max-Liebling-Hauses. Der Leiter des Denkmalschutzamtes Tel Aviv und verantwortliche Architekt Jeramie Hoffmann fasst den Zweck der Arbeiten zusammen: „Die Sanierung des Max-Liebling-Hauses ist ein Symbol für die gesamte Weiße Stadt und ihre Bauhaus-Architektur: Sie macht der Öffentlichkeit dieses kulturelle Erbe der Stadt bewusster.“


Das Projekt hat einen sowohl kulturhistorisch als auch bautechnisch und interkulturell bedeutsamen Rahmen: 100 Jahre Bauhaus. Das jetzt sanierte Max-Liebling-Haus ist eines von rund 4.000 Wohngebäuden der Weißen Stadt, die nach 1933 von deutschen Bauhaus-Architekten jüdischen Glaubens in Tel Aviv errichtet worden waren. Die Bauten sind ein typisches Beispiel für den durch Bauhaus-Elemente geprägten „Internationalen Stil“ und gehören heute zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe. Etwa 2.000 Gebäude stehen unter Denkmalschutz.


Informationen zur Weißen Stadt Tel Aviv: www.whitecitycenter.org.

Weitere Meldungen zum Projekt



Pressemeldung und Bildmaterial zum Download

Eröffnung vom Max-Liebling-Haus in Tel Aviv

Rückfragen gerne an

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA