Back to the overview

Interior Scholarship | Blog 02/2019 | Juliane Glaser

18.04.2019

Voyeur or pedestrian?


In the ‘Art of Action’ [Kunst des Handelns], Michel Certeau presents a city planned by one individual or by a minority as a clear, easy-to-read text. However, the notion of a ‘planned city’ derived from the draft design of an architect or a city planner is a purely fictional one. The lived-in and evolving city intrudes into that notion with its opaquely indiscernible and blind kinetic drive.


I worked on this text for a very long time, because I had to read it three times before I even began to understand it. However, the subject, one about which I had never given any thought prior to this, would not let me go. One question after another presented itself to me. My mind’s eye filled with views from look-out towers, of summit crosses, of confused people with city maps in their hands and of old oil paintings composed from the ‘Position of God’. It was an entirely new challenge for me to engage in such an intense dialectic with a text, all the while with the thought of interpreting it in spatial terms. Nonetheless, it was a truly exciting experience! I envisage a large proportion of the typical working day of a scenographer to be something like this. Mind you, during these deliberations, I also ask myself whether abstract philosophical explanations of this nature are really necessary to reveal the true nature of what is surely our very simple human existence and our endeavours. Then I ask myself yet more questions.


In our everyday life, do we deliberately adopt the role of the voyeur? What happens to the voyeur who turns back into a pedestrian? Is an architectural planner a voyeur and a pedestrian at one and the same time? Why engage in planning at all, given that you will lose control of that process sooner or later? As a voyeur, should one adopt several viewpoints, and/or surmount different heights? If the answer is yes, does this then make one mightier than someone who only has one frame of reference? What are you if you have a city map in one hand?


To find answers to these questions, I attempted to isolate certain terms, and then to imbue them with a spatial identity by building them into a simple sketch-like sculpture. This is something that impacts upon us every day, throughout our lives. Structures of society, planning, intertwining growth, restructuring the complete absence of structure. Knowing and not knowing.


The city

“The gigantic mass… transforms itself into an interwoven text… ”

The city as a text. While Rome may read as a story of the art of growing old, the narrative of New York is one of excess founded upon wastage and production. The existing is discarded, and the future is a simple accretion on existing structures.


The pedestrian

“ …whose bodies follow the more or less clearly discernible story-book imagery of an ‘urban text’, one that they write without being able to read what they have written. ”

The cohesive mass formed by the pedestrians in a city follows the more or less clearly legible story-book imagery of that urban text. Surrounded by streets and buildings, the identities of those pedestrians coalesces and blurs, with each becoming part of the mass entity.


The voyeur

“ …being raised up means to be torn away from the might of access to the city. "

Through his elevated position the voyeur regains his identity. He does this by being absent from the impenetrable tangle of structures that constitutes everyday life, thereby establishing the necessary distance. The voyeur leaves the mass behind, and the text becomes legible to him.


The eroticism of knowledge

“…to have an ‘overview’ of this most infinitely extensive of all texts’, o perch high above it and to grasp it in its entirety”.

Man has the driving urge, the desire, to grasp the meaning of the text, the city, to understand them and to acquire knowledge. Fascinated by adopting the role of the ‘all-seeing eye’, you look down upon the subordinated mass from a god-like position.


The fiction of knowledge

“Only being this viewpoint is what constitutes the fiction of knowledge”.

The knowledge acquired by ‘reading’ the city is only fiction. A deceptive image that arises from the restricted view of an individual and his subjective perception. After climbing back down, the voyeur once again becomes part of the mass.


Since the exhibition space available to us for setting things up here in the university is not a city, and since I genuinely found a single evening to be too short to recount an entire life, I divided the sculpture into three ‘Zones’. The person passing through is isolated from the social event of Zone 1 and is then raised to the elevated plane of a voyeur. As a pedestrian he enters into the sculpture which, in Zone 2, immediately calls for a decision to be made. Should I go to the right or to the left? Where does the path lead? You slowly disappear from the field of view of other people. Through the transparent, trembling walls, it is only possible to gain imprecise impressions of the surrounding world. In Zone 3, it is no longer possible to look out at the outside world, and you sense the urge to look beyond the walls and back at the distance already covered. You climb the steps and assume the position of the voyeur. At one and the same time, you experience the pleasure of knowledge and the power as well as the realisation that you will soon once again be a part of life, literally proceeding down at your feet.


In the course of the evening on which we were to be seeking to bring our dialectic closer to the texts of the visitors, many interesting discussions took place. It took a while before visitors felt confident enough to walk into the sculpture. During this exhibition, I established that a few pedestrians who had transformed into voyeurs were also using their vantage point to observe the mass of ‘pedestrians’. These people sensed their gaze upon them and accorded the voyeur their attention. This in turn caused the voyeur to lose confidence and to lose power. Whenever you climb up inside a church steeple, no-one questions this action. However, if you climb up onto a chair in the middle of a room, you attract irritated glances and feel awkward and conspicuous. It was similar in the case of this sculpture. Unfortunately, the distance was not great enough to be able to feel superior, but it was sufficient to gain a slight inkling of this feeling.

sto_stiftung_33_2019_interior_scholarship_blog_juliane_glaser_bild01

About Juliane Glaser

Photo: Juliane Glaser is one of the four winners of the Interior Scholarship grant issued by AIT and the Sto Foundation. She provides the following tip for other students: "Scholarships allow you a bit more freedom to help combat the significant pressure during your studies. You will therefore have more time for your own projects, as well as activities outside and within the university".

After completing a bachelor's degree in interior design, Juliane Glaser is now doing a master's degree course (Communication in Space) at the Mainz University of Applied Sciences. In 2017, she completed a 6-month internship at an architecture office in Mannheim. After her studies, her aim is to become a self-employed interior designer. The Interior Scholarship grant will allow her, amongst other things, to undertake a foreign internship in Switzerland and provide her with more time for her own projects.

Please direct queries to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

Bitte Sprache auswählen
zurück zur Übersicht

Interior Scholarship | Blog 02/2019 | Juliane Glaser

18.04.2019

Voyeur oder Fußgänger?


In „Kunst des Handelns“ stellt Michel Certeau die von einem Einzelnen oder einer Minderheit geplante Stadt als einen klaren, leicht lesbaren Text dar. Doch, von einem Architekten oder Stadtplaner entworfen, ist die geplante Stadt reine Fiktion. In sie dringt die bewohnte, wandelnde Stadt mit ihrer undurchschaubaren, blinden Beweglichkeit.


Ich beschäftigte mich sehr lange mit diesem Text, den ich gleich drei Mal lesen musste, um ihn auch nur annähernd verstehen zu können. Doch das Thema, über das ich zugegebenermaßen vorher nie wirklich nachgedacht hatte, lies mich nicht mehr los. Eine Frage nach der anderen stellte sich mir, Bilder von Aussichtstürmen, Gipfelkreuzen, verwirrten Menschen mit Stadtkarten in der Hand sowie von alten Gemälden aus der „Position Gottes“ entstanden in meinem Kopf. Eine solch intensive Auseinandersetzung mit einem Text, immer mit dem Gedanken an eine räumliche Interpretation, war für mich eine völlig neue Herausforderung. Jedoch eine super spannende Erfahrung! So ähnlich stelle ich mir den Großteil des Alltags eines Szenographen vor. Zwischendurch fragte ich mich jedoch, ob es wirklich solche abstrakten philosophischen Erläuterungen braucht, um unser doch recht simples menschliches Dasein und unsere Bestrebungen zu erklären. Und dann stellte ich mir weitere Fragen:


Nehmen wir in unserem Alltag bewusst die Rolle des Voyeurs ein? Was passiert mit dem Voyeur, der wieder zum Fußgänger wird? Ist ein planender Architekt Voyeur und Fußgänger zugleich? Wieso plant man, wenn man früher oder später die Kontrolle darüber verliert? Sollte man als Voyeur mehrere Perspektiven einnehmen, bzw. Höhen überwinden? Wenn ja, ist man dann mächtiger als jemand, der nur eine Perspektive kennt? Was ist man, wenn man eine Stadtkarte in der Hand hält?


Um Antworten auf die Fragen zu finden, versuchte ich, bestimmte Begriffe zu isolieren, um sie dann simpel in einer skizzenhaften Skulptur aus dem Text in den Raum zu holen. Denn es betrifft uns jeden Tag, ein Leben lang. Strukturen der Gesellschaft, Planung, Verwachsung, Umstrukturierungen, Strukturlosigkeit. Wissen und Nichtwissen.


Die Stadt

„Die gigantische Masse… verwandelt sich in ein Textgewebe… “

Die Stadt als Text. Während man an Rom die Kunst des Alterns ablesen kann, liest sich New York als ein Exzess aus Verschwendung und Produktion. Das Vorhandene wird verworfen, das Zukünftige einfach den existierenden Strukturen hinzugefügt.


Der Fußgänger

„ …deren Körper dem mehr oder weniger deutlichen Schriftbild eines „städtischen Textes“ folgen, den sie schreiben, ohne ihn lesen zu können. “

Die aus den Fußgängern der Stadt geballte Masse folgt dem mehr oder weniger lesbaren Schriftbild des städtischen Textes. Von Straßen und Gebäuden umgeben verschwimmen die Identitäten der Fußgänger, jeder ist Teil der Masse.


Der Voyeur

„ …emporgehoben zu sein bedeutet, dem mächtigen Zugriff der Stadt entrissen zu werden. “

Der Voyeur erlangt durch seine erhobene Position seine Identität zurück. Indem er sich aus den undurchschaubaren Strukturen des alltäglichen Lebens heraushält entsteht eine notwenige Distanz. Der Voyeur verlässt die Masse und der Text wird für ihn lesbar.


Die Erotik des Wissens

„…diesen maßlosesten aller Texte zu „überschauen“, zu überragen und in Gänze zu erfassen.“

Der Mensch hat den Drang, die Lust den Text, die Stadt zu begreifen, zu verstehen, Wissen zu erlangen. Fasziniert davon, die Rolle des „alles überschauenden Auges“ einzunehmen, überblickt man aus gottnaher Position die unterworfene Masse.


Die Fiktion des Wissens

„Ausschließlich dieser Blickpunkt zu sein, das ist die Fiktion des Wissens.“

Das durch das Lesen der Stadt erlangte Wissen ist lediglich Fiktion. Ein Trugbild, das durch die eingeschränkte Sicht eines Einzelnen und dessen subjektive Wahrnehmung entsteht. Nach dem Abstieg wird der Voyeur wieder Teil der Masse.


Da der Ausstellungsraum, der uns in der Hochschule zum Aufbau zur Verfügung stand, keine Stadt war und mir ein Abend für ein Leben wirklich zu kurz vorkam, unterteilte ich die Skulptur in drei Zonen. Der Begehende wird aus dem gesellschaftlichen Ereignis, der Zone 1, isoliert und dann auf die erhöhte Ebene eines Voyeurs erhoben. Als Fußgänger begibt er sich in die Skulptur, die in Zone 2 gleich eine Entscheidung fordert. Laufe ich nach rechts oder links? Wohin führt der Weg? Man verschwindet langsam aus dem Sichtfeld der anderen. Durch die transparenten, wackelnden Wände lassen sich nur Schemen der Umwelt erahnen. In Zone 3 ist ein Durchblicken nach außen nicht mehr möglich und man verspürt den Drang, über die Wände hinweg auf den überwundenen Weg zu blicken. Man steigt die Stufen empor und nimmt die Position des Voyeurs ein. Man erfährt zur selben Zeit den Genuss des Wissens und der Macht sowie die Erkenntnis, dass man bald wieder ein Teil des Lebens sein wird, das einem gerade zu Füßen liegt.


Während des Abends, an dem wir unsere Auseinandersetzungen mit den Texten den Besuchern näher bringen sollten, ergaben sich viele interessante Gespräche. Die Besucher trauten sich erst nach und nach in die Skulptur hinein. Während der Ausstellung stellte ich fest, dass ein paar zu Voyeuren gewordene Fußgänger die Aussicht auch ausnutzten, um die Masse der „Fußgänger“ zu beobachten. Diese fühlten die Blicke und schenkten dem Voyeur ihre Aufmerksamkeit. Dadurch wurde er unsicher und verlor an Macht. Steigt man auf einen Kirchturm, stellt dies keiner in Frage. Steigt man jedoch in mitten eines Raumes auf einen Stuhl, erntet man irritierte Blicke und fühlt sich nicht wohl. Ähnlich war es auch bei der Skulptur. Die Distanz war leider nicht groß genug um sich überlegen zu fühlen, doch sie hat gereicht, um einen Hauch davon zu erhaschen.

Über Juliane Glaser

Über Juliane Glaser

Juliane Glaser ist eine der vier Gewinnerinnen des Interior Scholarship-Stipendiums von AIT und Sto-Stiftung. Anderen Studierenden gibt sie den Tipp: „Stipendien geben die Möglichkeit, durch Freiräume dem starken Druck während des Studiums etwas zu verringern. Dadurch bleibt mehr Zeit für eigene Projekte, Engagement außerhalb der Hochschule, aber auch innerhalb der Hochschule.“

Nach einem Bachelor in Innenarchitektur studiert Juliane Glaser derzeit im Masterstudienfach „Kommunikation im Raum“ an der Hochschule Mainz. 2017 absolvierte sie 6-monatiges Praktikum bei einem Mannheimer Architekturbüro. Nach dem Studium ist es ihr Ziel, als freiberufliche Innenarchitektin zu arbeiten. Das Interior Scholarship-Stipendium ermöglicht ihr unter anderem ein Auslandspraktikum in der Schweiz und mehr Zeit für eigene Projekte.

Rückfragen gerne an

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA