Please select language
Back to the overview

Summer school competition | Building Cycle Rollberg | Berlin-Neukölln

06.06.2018

The shell structure of the storage facility for filled beverage containers has been completed and awaits further development.


Right in the middle of Berlin-Neukölln, the storage facility "VOLLGUT" is built on the land of the former Kindl brewery. In a district that features a wealth of languages and cultures, generations and stakeholders, an old industrial wasteland is supposed to be converted. An environment that not only fosters art and culture, participation and working together, but also accommodates events and gastronomy is being created. Various organisations and clubs are already active in this area as many things are being created.


TU Berlin architecture students have developed a prototype for circular construction as part of their "Building Cycle" seminar at the Natural Building Lab. During the 2017/18 winter semester, a group led by Professor Eike Roswag-Klinge dealt with the issues of sustainability and recycling. Their goal: a reversible and temporary information booth with flexible uses that is meant to be a meeting place and contact point for all stakeholders.


The building is supposed to offer space for information and interaction, and that hosts construction and group meetings or workshops. This allows stakeholders to connect with each other and with their neighbours, and it gives them the opportunity to communicate on processes that are currently under way.


Thirty-six students have developed ways of reusing materials in the construction cycle: A girder grid made from reused wooden beams forms the roof, whose overhang protects the wall modules, which were made from fruit boxes and feature posters, from the elements. In order to be used year-round, the information booth has been insulated by filling the boxes with shredded paper. The team also developed windows with panes made from waste glass: they built the wooden frames themselves and used the inner tubes of bicycles for insulation.


Since the end of the planning phase in mid-February, the "Building Cycle" team has been working on the plot of land of the storage facility "VOLLGUT". The first part has now been completed – the shell of the construction office has been built and is now awaiting its expansion. The roofing ceremony will be held on 8 June.

Summer school competition of the Sto Foundation


Architecture faculties and departments from universities across Europe entered the 2018 summer school competition. From the 52 applications seeking support for internationally oriented courses on sustainability and energetically-efficient types of construction, the four-member jury, led by Sto Foundation Chairman Peter Cheret, selected six winning projects. The jury also included Andres Lepik, director of the Architecture Museum and professor for architectural history and curatorial practice at the TU Munich, Katja Stotmeister as a guest judge and Uwe Koos, the chairman of the Foundation's Board. The Sto Foundation is making available a total sum of about €100,000 for the six selected do-it-yourself student projects.

Please direct queries to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

Bitte Sprache auswählen
zurück zur Übersicht

Summerschool-Wettbewerb | Building Cycle Rollberg | Berlin-Neukölln

06.06.2018

Der Rohbau der Vollgutzentrale ist fertiggestellt und wartet auf den weiteren Ausbau


Mitten in Berlin-Neukölln ensteht das VOLLGUT-Areal auf dem Gelände der ehemaligen Kindl-Brauerei. In einem Kiez mit einer Fülle an Sprachen und Kulturen, Generationen und Akteuren soll eine alte Industriebrache umgenutzt werden. Es entsteht ein Umfeld für Kunst und Kultur, für Teilhabe, gemeinsames Arbeiten, Events und Gastronomie. Zahlreiche Organisationen und Vereine sind hier bereits tätig, Vieles entsteht und ist im Werden.


Architekturstudierende der TU Berlin haben im Rahmen des Seminars "Building Cycle" am Natural Building Lab einen Prototypen für zirkuläres Bauen realisiert. Im Laufe des Wintersemesters 2017/18 setzte sich die Gruppe um Professor Eike Roswag-Klinge mit Nachhaltigkeit und Recycling auseinander. Das Ziel: eine flexibel nutzbare, reversible und temporäre Infobude als Begegnungs- und Anlaufpunkt für alle Beteiligten.


Das Gebäude soll Raum für Information und Austausch bieten; hier finden Bausitzungen, Gruppentreffen oder Workshops statt. Auf diese Weise können sich Akteure miteinander und mit den Nachbarn vernetzen und darüber hinaus aktuell laufende Prozesse kommunizieren.


36 Studierende haben Methoden entwickelt, um Materialien erneut in den Baukreislauf einzubinden: Ein Trägerrost aus wiederverwendeten Holzbalken bildet das Dach, dessen Überstand die plakatierten Wandmodule aus Obstkisten vor Wind und Wetter schützt. Für eine ganzjährige Nutzung wird die Infobude gedämmt, indem die Kisten mit geschreddertem Papier befüllt werden. Auch Fenster aus Altglas–Scheiben wurden im Team entwickelt: aus selbst gebauten Holzrahmen mit einer Abdichtung aus Fahrradschläuchen.


Seit dem Abschluss der Planungsphase Mitte Februar war das Building-Cycle-Team auf dem VOLLGUT-Areal aktiv. Der erste Teil ist mittlerweile geschafft – der Rohbau des Baubüros ist fertiggestellt und wartet nun auf den Ausbau. Am Freitag, den 8. Juni, findet das Richtfest statt.

Summerschool-Wettbewerb der Sto-Stiftung


Fakultäten und Fachbereiche für Architektur an Hochschulen aus ganz Europa haben sich beim Summerschool-Wettbewerb 2018 beworben. Aus 52 Anträgen auf Förderung international ausgerichteter Lehrveranstaltungen zu Nachhaltigkeit und energetisch sinnvollen Bauweisen kürte eine vierköpfige Jury unter Vorsitz von Sto-Stiftungsrat Peter Cheret sechs Gewinnerprojekte. Der Jury gehörten zudem Andres Lepik, Direktor des Architekturmu-seums und Professor für Architekturgeschichte und kuratorische Praxis an der TU München, Katja Stotmeister als Gast und Uwe Koos, Vorsitzender des Stiftungsvorstands, an. Für die sechs ausgewählten studentischen Selbstbauprojekte stellt die Sto-Stiftung eine Fördersumme von insgesamt rund 100.000 Euro bereit.

yt_bc

Interviews mit den Summerschool-TeilnehmerInnen

Die Interviews mit Helen Neuenkirchen und Leon Klaßen sowie mit Maire Cordts, Max Pfeffer und Professor Eike Roswag-Klinge auf unserem YouTube-Kanal.

Rückfragen beantwortet gerne

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA