Back to the overview

They're building in Langa

19.02.2014

10_summerschool 2013_Kulturzentrum Südafrika

Guga S’Thebe is a cultural centre which was founded in Langa, the oldest township in Cape Town, after the end of apartheid in the 1990s. It attracts both children, young people and artists from the neighbourhood and large numbers of tourists from all over the world. For the residents of Langa, Guga S’Thebe also offers a unique opportunity to experience art, culture, and international dialogue.


Over the years, the work with children and young people who are taught by local teachers and artists has become a focus of the cultural centre. Guga S’Thebe has become a place which offers a space for shared learning, making music, creativity, care, food, and education outside of schools and away from what are often difficult family circumstances.


The cultural centre, which is truly one of its kind, has now ran out of space. A new multi-purpose room for music, dance and theatre, a library, and areas for workshops, are all urgently needed. The new building will facilitate the continuation and expansion of the successful work with children begun in Guga S’Thebe in a range of different music, art, and dance workshops, as well as public concerts.


Under the leadership of South African architect Carin Smuts, students of the department of architecture from the universities PBSA Dusseldorf, RWTH Aachen, and GaTech Atlanta are designing, planning, and building the youth centre. Since July, practical work has also been taking place in Cape Town. The project, which can name one of its founders as the AIT ArchitekturSalon, is one of the prize winners of the 2013 Summer School Competition run by the Sto Foundation.


As Cape Town will be World Design Capital in 2014, the planning and construction phase with international students, local artists, and the Langas community can become part of the process. The aim is to create an innovative building via participation, social integration, and the implementation of reusable and recyclable materials. In workshops with children and young people, rooms and spaces can be designed with which their 'designers' will later identify and where they can feel safe and secure.


A project blog will report on the progress of the construction works.

10_summerschool_2013_kulturzentrum_suedafrika_videobild

Guga S'Thebe Theatre 2014 (Video clip | 13:11 Min.)

Please direct queries to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

Bitte Sprache auswählen
zurück zur Übersicht

In Langa wird gebaut | Kunst, Kultur und internationalen Dialog im Guga S’Thebe

19.02.2014

10_summerschool 2013_Kulturzentrum Südafrika

Guga S’Thebe ist ein Kulturzentrum, das nach Ende der Apartheid in den 1990er Jahren in Langa, dem ältesten Township Kapstadts, entstanden ist. Es zieht gleichermaßen Kinder, Jugendliche und Künstler aus der Nachbarschaft sowie zahlreiche Touristen aus aller Welt an. Für die Einwohner Langas ist Guga S’Thebe zudem eine einzigartige Chance, Kunst, Kultur und internationalen Dialog zu erfahren.


Im Laufe der Jahre hat sich die Arbeit mit Kindern und Jugendlichen, die von lokalen Lehrern und Künstlern unterrichtet werden, zu einem Schwerpunkt des Kulturzentrums entwickelt. Guga S’Thebe ist zu einem Ort geworden, der abseits von Schulen und oft schwierigen familiären Verhältnissen Raum für gemeinsames Lernen, Musizieren, Kreativität, Betreuung, Verpflegung und Bildung bietet.


Das in seiner Art einzigartige Kulturzentrum ist an seine räumlichen Grenzen gestoßen. Dringend benötigt werden ein neuer Multifunktionsraum für Musik, Tanz und Theater, eine Bibliothek sowie Räumlichkeiten für Workshops. Die bereits in Guga S’Thebe begonnene erfolgreiche Arbeit mit Kindern und Jugendlichen in verschiedenen Musik, Kunst und Tanz-Workshops sowie öffentlichen Konzerten soll durch das neue Gebäude weiter ausgebaut werden.


Unter Leitung der südafrikanischen Architektin Carin Smuts entwerfen, planen und bauen Studierende des Fachbereichs Architektur der Hochschulen PBSA Düsseldorf, RWTH Aachen und GaTech Atlanta das Jugendzentrum. Seit Juli wird in Kapstadt auch praktisch gearbeitet. Das Projekt, zu dessen Initiatoren die die AIT ArchitekturSalons gehören, gehört zu den Preisträgern des Summer-School-Wettbewerbs 2013 der Sto-Stiftung.


Da Kapstadt im Jahr 2014 Welt-Design-Hauptstadt sein wird, kann die Planungs- und Bauphase mit internationalen Studierenden, lokalen Künstlern und der Gemeinschaft Langas Teil des Prozesses werden. Ziel ist, gemeinsam, durch Partizipation, soziale Integration und die Implementierung von wiederverwerteten Materialien ein innovatives Gebäude zu erzeugen. In Workshops mit Kindern und Jugendlichen können Räume gestaltet werden, mit denen sich ihre ‘Gestalter’ später identifizieren und in denen sie sich geborgen fühlen.


Ein Projektblog berichtet über den Baufortschritt

10_summerschool_2013_kulturzentrum_suedafrika_videobild

Guga S'Thebe Theatre 2014 (Film | 13:11 Min.)

Rückfragen beantwortet gerne

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA