Please select language
Back to the overview

Post-event report | Stuttgart - Stefan Marbach: Tradition meets a paradigm shift

03.11.2021

On 3 November, for the first time following the disruption of lectures caused by the pandemic, architecture experts and building aficionados once again met in Stuttgart for the November Talks. The subject of the kick-off event of the series, which is supported by the Sto Foundation, was a critical analysis of how the construction sector can meet the challenges posed by climate change and the resulting policies. The evening's speaker, Stefan Marbach, senior partner at Herzog & de Meuron, made the case for building concepts specific to local conditions.

"What we need to do now is to find a new approach when building", said Stefan Marbach, senior partner at Herzog & de Meuron, and got right to the heart of the matter of his November Talks lecture. "Traditionally, we have been using concrete in construction and have always been interested in the material's aesthetic diversity", he stated. However, he added that we need to have a serious debate about how the construction sector has to change, especially in light of the recent catastrophic floods. Because: The construction sector is part of the problem, as Marbach said unequivocally.

His lecture, which kicked off this year's November Talks series in Stuttgart, took up on the winter semester's motto of the Faculty for Architecture and Urban Design: "Building without concrete". Marbach described the high standard of architectural goals and the need to reconcile different aspects that often seem incompatible. Marbach used a quote of the Swiss architect Jaques Herzog to explain the complexity of the task: "The real challenge is to create sustainable and unique beauty. We believe it is our task to be part of a paradigm shift in order to create a new type of aesthetic, sustainable beauty as well as architectural quality that is specific to each individual project and that fits into the local urban, geographic and cultural context and counterbalances the natural surroundings".

High CO2 emissions arising from building with concrete

CO2 emissions have been increasing steadily in the age of industrialisation, along with a growing population and per capita wealth, which has resulted in a larger physical footprint per person. The result, Marbach noted, was a lot more construction. The construction sector alone is responsible for 40% of CO2 emissions – and eight percent can be attributed to building with concrete. Marbach added that the goal has to be site-specific construction and factoring in regional (climate) conditions when designing and planning architecture. "However, in many cases, people still don't understand this", he stated regretfully. He introduced a few projects as examples – such as an expansion building of the Tate Modern in London, the natural swimming pool in Riehen and the REHAB centre in Basel. With all of its projects, Herzog & de Meuron wants to advance a sharpening of sensory perception and the creation of a new, specific type of city. "The key is to think holistically and to bring the stakeholders to the table that are required for these types of concepts", Marbach pleaded. He referenced the current "Nordspitze Basel" project, which is being created as part of the urban development project on the property of the former Dreispitz duty-free warehouse. A well-thought-out, mixed-use quarter with a high density of residential and office spaces, commercial and educational facilities as well as many green spaces and recreational facilities that are open to the public is being created here. "Densification also means creating more free space. In that regard, the following question is key: How do we consciously create a pleasant climate in a city that tends to overheat"?

The speaker referred to other projects, such as the Stone House (1988) in Tavole, the wine press and storage facility of Dominus Winery (1998) in Napa Valley and the Ricola herb centre (2014) in Laufen. All of them used local materials instead of concrete. Marbach emphasised the impressive connection of all of these projects to the respective sites and a contemporary construction economy. Obviously, a lot of convincing still has to be done when it comes to creating real architecture that can contribute to the stated climate goals. "Some building owners say they want the most sustainable building", Marbach stated, referring to his everyday practice. "However, once they realise how much that would cost, they back pedal".

Architecture and building – that is a central topic for everybody at any time, everywhere and in any society. Currently, new challenges and conditions still collide with tradition and the established way of doing things. In addition, the planning of contemporary architecture projects requires significant foresight because some of them may take a decade to complete and the requirements can change a lot in that time. As a final project, Stefan Marbach talked about the Hortus office building: In this building, the energy required for construction is intended to be "paid back" within a generation. Hortus is an atrium building made of solid timber and clay with a biodiverse courtyard. The timber structure is pegged in its entirety. Ceiling elements with pounded clay fillings are intended to be produced in a temporary field factory and then made available for construction just in time. The exterior shell is fully equipped with solar modules – with glazed and closed areas at a ratio of 1:1.

Exciting and future-oriented aspects characterise the start of the November Talks. Kyra Bullert, a research assistant of IRGE – the Institute for Spatial Conception and Fundamentals of Design – moderated the event and referred to the upcoming lectures in Stuttgart, the series' original location, on 10, 17 and 24 November, as well as additional November Talks in Paris, Prague, Venice, Vienna and London.

You can download the high-resolution images here.

The follow-up reports, also from the other locations, will also be made available to you gradually. You will then find these data under the following link.

You can find all dates of this year's November Talks on our website www.novembertalks-festival.com. The website also contains brief video clips of interviews with the speakers.

Please direct queries to

Kirsten Ludwig
Oberdorfstraße 31 A
70794 Filderstadt
T.: +49 711 9454161-20

klu@a1kommunikation.de
www.a1kommunikation.de

RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

Für diese Seite ist keine englische Übersetzung verfügbar / For this page is no english translation available
zurück zur Übersicht

Nachbericht | Stuttgart - Stefan Marbach: Tradition trifft auf Paradigmenwechsel

23.11.2021

Erstmals nach der pandemiebedingten Vortragspause trafen sich Architekturexperten und Bauinteressierte wieder zu den November Talks am 3. November 2021 in Stuttgart. Thema der Auftaktveranstaltung dieser von der Sto-Stiftung unterstützten Serie war eine kritische Auseinandersetzung damit, wie der Bausektor den aktuellen klimapolitischen Herausforderungen begegnen kann. Für lokalspezifische Baukonzepte plädierte der Referent des Abends Stefan Marbach, Senior Partner bei Herzog & de Meuron.

„Es ist jetzt geboten, einen neuen Ansatz beim Bauen zu finden.“ Stefan Marbach, Senior Partner bei Herzog & de Meuron, brachte das Thema gleich zu Beginn seines Vortrags bei den November Talks auf den Punkt. „Wir haben eine Tradition, mit Beton zu bauen – wir waren immer an der ästhetischen Vielfalt des Materials interessiert“, konstatierte er. Doch müsse jetzt die Frage, wie es im Bausektor weitergehen könne, intensiv diskutiert werden – vor allem mit Blick auf die jüngsten Flutkatastrophen. Denn: Der Bausektor sei Teil des Problems, machte Marbach unmissverständlich deutlich.

Sein Referat, das die diesjährige Stuttgarter November-Reihe eröffnete, schloss sich an das Wintersemester-Motto ‚Bauen ohne Beton‘ der Fakultät Architektur und Stadtplanung an. Marbachs Ausführungen umschrieben den hohen Anspruch architektonischer Ziele und die erforderliche Vereinbarkeit diverser Aspekte – die doch oft unvereinbar scheinen. Mit einem Zitat des Schweizer Architekten Jaques Herzog erklärte Marbach die Komplexität der Aufgabe: „Die wahre Herausforderung besteht darin, eine nachhaltige und einzigartige Schönheit zu schaffen. Wir sehen es als unsere Aufgabe an, Teil eines Paradigmenwechsels zu sein, um eine neue Art von Ästhetik, nachhaltiger Schönheit und architektonischer Qualität zu schaffen, die für jedes einzelne Projekt spezifisch ist und sich in den lokalen urbanen, geografischen und kulturellen Kontext im Gleichgewicht mit der natürlichen Umgebung einfügt.“

Hohe CO2-Emissionen aus dem Bauen mit Beton

Die CO2-Emissionen nehmen seit der Industrialisierung kontinuierlich zu, ebenso der Bevölkerungs- und Wohlstandszuwachs, der immer mehr Fläche pro Kopf einfordert – mit dem Ergebnis, dass zunehmend mehr gebaut werde, gab Marbach zu bedenken. Allein 40 Prozent aller CO2-Emissionen seien dem Bausektor zuzurechnen – acht Prozent allein für das Bauen mit Beton. Nun komme es darauf an, führte Marbach weiter aus, lokalspezifisch zu bauen und regionale Gegebenheiten und Klimabedingungen in die Gestaltung und Planung von Architektur einzubeziehen. „Aber dafür fehlt heute vielfach noch das Verständnis“, bedauerte er. Er stellte einige Projektbeispiele vor – etwa den Erweiterungsbau der Tate Modern in London, das Naturbad in Riehen und das Rehabilitationszentrum REHAB in Basel. Für Herzog & de Meuron gehe es bei allen Projekten darum, die Schärfung der Sinneswahrnehmung und die Schaffung einer neuen spezifischen Form der Stadt voranzutreiben. „Es ist entscheidend, dass wir ganzheitlich denken und die Leute an einen Tisch bringen, die es für entsprechende Konzepte braucht“, plädierte Stefan Marbach. Er verwies auf das aktuelle Projekt ‚Nordspitze Basel‘, das als Teil des Stadtentwicklungsprojekts auf dem ehemaligen Zollfreilager Dreispitz entsteht. Hier wird ein ausformuliertes, nutzungsdurchmischtes Quartier mit hoher Dichte an Wohn- und Büroräumen, Kommerz- und Bildungsflächen sowie zahlreichen öffentlich zugänglichen Grün- und Freizeitanlagen umgesetzt. „Verdichtung bedeutet, dass man auch mehr Freiraum schafft. Hier spielt die Frage eine Rolle: Wie schaffen wir bewusst ein angenehmes Klima in der Stadt, das nicht zur Überhitzung neigt?“

Der Referent verwies auf weitere Projekte – etwa das Stone House (1988) im Tavole, die Kelter- und Lagerstätte der Dominus Winery (1998) im Napa Valley und das Ricola-Kräuterzentrum (2014) in Laufen. Sie alle verzichten durch den Einsatz lokaler Werkstoffe gänzlich auf Beton. Marbach betonte bei diesen Projekten die eindrucksvolle Verbindung zu den jeweiligen Standortorten und die zeitgemäße Bauökonomie. Offenbar ist noch viel Überzeugungsarbeit zu leisten, wenn es darum geht, reale Architektur zu schaffen, die einen Beitrag zu den ausgegebenen Klimazielen leisten kann. „Es gibt viele Bauherren, die sagen‚ sie wollten das nachhaltigste Gebäude“, berichtet Marbach aus dem Praxisalltag. „Wenn dann allerdings klar wird, was das kostest, wird zurückgerudert.“

Architektur und Bauen – ein zentrales Thema für alle Menschen zu jeder Zeit, weltweit und in jeder Gesellschaft. Aktuell stoßen Tradition und bislang festgefügte Muster auf neue Herausforderungen und neue Randbedingungen. Obendrein erfordert die Planung gegenwärtiger Architekturprojekte eine enorme Weitsicht, weil manche Vorhaben bis zu ihrer Fertigstellung durchaus ein ganzes Jahrzehnt in Anspruch nehmen und sich die Anforderungen in dieser Zeit wesentlich verändern können. Als finales Projektbeispiel stellte Stefan Marbach den Bürobau Hortus vor: In diesem Gebäude soll die Erstellungsenergie in einer Generation ‚zurückgezahlt‘ sein können. Hortus ist ein Atriumbau aus Massivholz und Lehm mit einem biodivers ausgelegten Innenhof. Die Holzkonstruktion ist ausschließlich gesteckt. In einer temporären Feldfabrik sollen Deckenelemente mit gestampften Lehmfüllungen entstehen, die im Anschluss ‚just in time‘ in die Konstruktion eingebracht werden. Die Außenhülle ist vollumfassend mit Solarmodulen konzipiert – mit verglasten und geschlossen Flächen im Verhältnis 50:50.

Spannende und zukunftsweisende Aspekte prägten den Auftakt der November Talks. Kyra Bullert, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin des IRGE – Institut für Raumkonzeptionen und Grundlagen des Entwerfens, führte durch die Veranstaltung und verwies auf die nachfolgenden Vorträge am Gründungsort Stuttgart am 10., 17. und 24. November 2021 sowie auf weitere Talks in Paris, Prag, Venedig, Wien und London.

Das hochaufgelöste Bildmaterial finden Sie hier zum Download.

Die Nachberichte, auch der anderen Standorte, stellen wir Ihnen nach und nach ebenfalls zur Verfügung. Sie finden diese Daten dann unter folgendem Link.

Besuchen Sie auch unsere neue Webseite www.novembertalks-festival.com!

Rückfragen gerne an:

Kirsten Ludwig
a1kommunikation Schweizer GmbH
Oberdorfstraße 31 A
70794 Filderstadt
T.: +49 711 9454161-20

klu@a1kommunikation.de
www.a1kommunikation.de

RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA