Please select language
Back to the overview

"Architecture students primarily learn from their idols"

03.12.2019

Review | Manuel Aires Mateus in Venedig

2019 November Talks at the University of Stuttgart


For the 14th time, the annual "November Talks" lecture series sponsored by the non-profit Sto Foundation brought renowned international architects to the University of Stuttgart. On four evenings, the lower lecture hall of the university turned into a stage for famous speakers, who discussed their views on relevant contemporary architecture topics


In November 2019, these speakers were the five successful female architects Luise Kister, Francine Houben, Alexandra Hagen, Barbara Vogt and Alison Brooks. For the first time, they were welcomed by Prof. Markus Allmann, the director of the Institute for Spatial Conception and Design Basics at the Faculty for Architecture and Urban Design. Allmann took over the lecture series from his predecessor Prof. Peter Cheret.


Until the summer semester, Cheret had been a professor at the Institute for Building Construction and Design at the University of Stuttgart. Since the Sto Foundation was founded in 2005, he has served as its foundation council member for architecture. Under his leadership, the "November Talks" became a highly successful lecture series with events held at six European universities – Stuttgart, Paris, Prague, London, Venice and Graz.


His successor, Prof. Markus Allmann, has worked at the University of Stuttgart since 2006. He has been part of the "November Talks" from the beginning, knows the issues and has now also taken on the responsibility of developing the series further.


"The first order of business in the case of such a popular lecture series is to ensure that it continues to be successful. The format has been so successful because we have been able to completely rely on the stars – the outstanding architects that introduced their work. And we have fared very well with this concept and we want to make sure it stays that way", explains Allmann, who points to the "great importance" of the series, especially for the university's students.


"Architecture students primarily learn from their idols. All of the guest lecturers we have invited represent a strong, unique viewpoint in the world of architecture. That is extremely important for our students. In addition, the works of these architects are very well known but not the people who designed them. It is incredibly exciting for the students to get to know the biographies of these famous architects", Allmann believes.


He will be able to count on the continued involvement of the Sto Foundation in the November Talks. "That is really important and necessary, because this type of event is something very special. We have to create a space for it and make the necessary means available that are generally lacking at many universities", said the departing Professor Peter Cheret.

yt

Video of the interview

Prof. Peter Cheret and Prof. Markus Allmann are interviewed about the history and significance of the architecture lecture series.

Watch the video on our YouTube channel

Please send any questions to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

Für diese Seite ist keine englische Übersetzung verfügbar / For this page is no english translation available
zurück zur Übersicht

„Architekturstudenten lernen vor allem durch Vorbilder“

03.12.2019

Prof. Peter Cheret und Prof. Markus Allmann

November-Reihe 2019 an der Universität in Stuttgart


Essen, Dezember 2019. Zum vierzehnten Mal hat die von der gemeinnützigen Sto-Stiftung geförderte Vortragsserie „November Reihe“ in diesem Jahr internationale Architekten an die Universität Stuttgart geladen. An vier Abenden verwandelte sich der Tiefenhörsaal der Uni zur Plattform für namhafte Referenten, die ihre Positionen zu relevanten Themen der zeitgenössischen Architektur vorstellten.


Im November 2019 waren es mit Luise Kister, Francine Houben, Ale-xandra Hagen, Barbara Vogt und Alison Brooks fünf erfolgreiche Architektinnen. Sie wurden erstmals von Prof. Markus Allmann, Direktor des Instituts für Raumkonzeptionen und Grundlagen des Entwerfens an der Fakultät Architektur und Stadtplanung, begrüßt. Damit übernahm Allmann die Vortragsreihe von seinem Vorgänger Prof. Peter Cheret.


Bis zum Sommersemester war Cheret als Professor am Institut für Baukonstruktion und Entwerfen der Uni Stuttgart tätig. Seit Gründung der Sto-Stiftung im Jahr 2005 ist er als deren Stiftungsrat für Architektur aktiv. Unter seiner Führung entwickelte sich die „November Reihe“ zu einer Veranstaltungsserie, die mittlerweile an sechs europäischen Universitäten mit großem Erfolg stattfindet, – neben Stuttgart auch in Paris, Prag, London, Venedig und Graz.


Sein Nachfolger, Prof. Markus Allmann, ist seit 2006 an der Universität in Stuttgart tätig. Er hat die „November Reihe“ von Anfang an begleitet, kennt die Materie und hat nun die Aufgabe übernommen, das Konzept weiter zu führen.


„Als Erstes muss man sich natürlich bei so einer beliebten Reihe vor-nehmen, dass man sie so erfolgreich weiterführt. Das Format war deshalb so erfolgreich, weil wir uns voll und ganz auf die Akteure verlassen konnten. Es waren alles herausragende Architekten, die ihre Positionen zeigten. Das hat sich bewährt und soll auch weiterhin so bleiben“, erklärt Allmann und verweist auf die „hohe Bedeutung“ der Reihe insbesondere für die Studenten an den Universitäten.


„Architekturstudenten lernen vor allem durch Vorbilder. Alle Gastredner, die wir einladen, vertreten eine starke, individuelle Haltung im architektonischen Diskurs. Für die Studenten ist das enorm wichtig. Dazu kommt, dass die Werke der Architekten oft bekannt sind, aber nicht die dahintersteckenden Personen. Es ist für Studenten spannend, auch die Biografien renommierter Architekten kennenzulernen“, ist sich Allmann sicher.


Sicher ist auch, dass das Engagement der Sto-Stiftung bei der November-Reihe weitergehen wird. „Das ist absolut wichtig und notwendig, weil diese Art von Veranstaltung etwas ganz Besonderes ist. Dafür muss Raum geschaffen und es müssen Mittel zur Verfügung gestellt werden, die im Allgemeinen an vielen Universitäten fehlen“, betont der scheidende Professor Peter Cheret.


Pressemeldung inklusive Bildmaterial zum Download

yt

Interview-Video

Prof. Peter Cheret und Prof. Markus Allmann im Interview über die Geschichte und die Bedeutung der Architektur-Vortragsreihe.

Das Video auf unserem YouTube-Kanal

Rückfragen gerne an

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA