Please select language
Back to the overview

German-Israeli team of trainees renovates a World Heritage Site in Tel Aviv

07.03.2019

The Sto Foundation promotes a bilateral project


This year's most important promotional project for the Sto Foundation involves a significant matrix of cultural, historical, construction technology-related and intercultural factors. 100 years of Bauhaus. A residential property built in this style in Tel Aviv is undergoing comprehensive renovation, with the work being done by mixed teams of young craftspeople from Germany and Israel. The Max-Liebling House in Tel Aviv is one of about 4000 residential properties that the German Bauhaus architects of Jewish faith built in this city after 1933. These buildings now constitute a UNESCO World Heritage Site, and about 2000 of these buildings are now listed. At this special construction site in the ‘White City’ of Tel Aviv, German trainee plasterers and painters & decorators will soon be working alongside Israeli trainee craftspeople and students. ‘Open for Renovation’ is the name of this project, the goal of which is to perform a full renovation and conversion of the former Max-Liebling House, turning it into the future White City Center. On 19 September, this building will be inaugurated in its official new capacity as the German-Israeli Documentation, Mediation and Competence Centre. The charitable Sto Foundation is organising and financing the extensive facade renovation work of four German-Israeli teams, each of whom will be living and working together for a ten-day period in the city.


Konrad Richter, Foundation Council Member for Trades, is delighted: “We are facilitating and motivating an exchange between young people in the context of projects of this nature across national frontiers. Working together, learning from one another, organising leisure time together - that is our contribution towards a society that is open to the world”. The teamwork is coordinated by the Office of the White City, Tel Aviv at the German Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community (BMI), based at the German Federal Office of Construction (ABB) in Mainz.


Facelift for the facade of the Max-Liebling House


Each of three teams of five trainee plasterers from the vocational training school and the multi-company training centre in Leonberg works for one week on the facade of the Max-Liebling House, renovating cracks and upgrading the plaster. Seven trainee painters & decorators from various German vocational training schools are working on the new paintwork. Each team is supplemented by five young Israeli craftspeople. This brings in trainees from the ‘Israel Antiquities Authority’. A class of architecture students from Bezalel University in Jerusalem is also interested. After the workshop session, the trainees from Germany gain an initial impression of Israel in an accompanying cultural programme. The aims of this project, promoted by the Sto Foundation, are to facilitate an exchange of training, the benefits of intercultural experience and to accomplish technology and knowledge transfer at a craftsmanship level.


Living German-Israeli meeting place


The future White City Center is part of the ‘Network White City Tel Aviv’ project, the brainchild of the German Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community (BMI) that is also providing financial assistance. The 'White City’ in Tel Aviv comprises about 4000 buildings and is a typical example of the ‘International Style’ characterised by Bauhaus elements. Built as a modern residential town for emigrants and refugees from Europe in the thirties and forties, this has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2003 and about half of its buildings are now listed. The new architecture centre will showcase examples of best practice to ensure that this unique heritage of building culture continues to be developed sensitively.

Please send any questions to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

zurück zur Übersicht

Deutsch-israelisches Azubi-Team saniert Weltkulturerbe in Tel Aviv

07.03.2019

Sto-Stiftung fördert bilaterales Projekt


Das in diesem Jahr wichtigste Förderprojekt der Sto-Stiftung hat einen sowohl kulturhistorisch als auch bautechnisch und interkulturell bedeutsamen Rahmen: 100 Jahre Bauhaus. Ein in diesem Stil errichtetes Wohnhaus in Tel Aviv wird von gemischten Teams junger Handwerker aus Deutschland und Israel generalsaniert. Das Max-Liebling-Haus in Tel Aviv ist eines von rund 4.000 Wohngebäuden, die nach 1933 von deutschen Bauhaus-Architekten jüdischen Glaubens in der Stadt errichtet worden waren. Sie gehören heute zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe, etwa 2.000 Gebäude stehen unter Denkmalschutz. Auf dieser besonderen Baustelle in der „Weißen Stadt“ von Tel Aviv legen Azubis des deutschen Stuckateur- und Malerhandwerks demnächst gemeinsam mit israelischen Handwerkern und Studenten Hand an. „Open for Renovation“ heißt das Projekt, dessen Ziel die Komplettsanierung und der Umbau des ehemaligen Max-Liebling-Wohnhauses zum künftigen White City Center ist. Am 19. September soll dieses Gebäude offiziell seiner Bestimmung als deutsch-israelisches Dokumentations-, Vermittlungs- und Kompetenzzentrum übergeben werden. Die gemeinnützige Sto-Stiftung organisiert und finanziert die aufwendige Fassadensanierung für vier deutsch-israelische Teams, die jeweils zehn Tage in der Stadt gemeinsam leben und arbeiten.


Konrad Richter, Stiftungsrat Handwerk, freut sich: „Wir ermöglichen und motivieren den Austausch junger Menschen im Rahmen solcher Projekte über Ländergrenzen hinweg. Gemeinsam arbeiten, voneinander lernen, zusammen Freizeit gestalten, das ist unser Beitrag zu einer weltoffenen Gesellschaft.“ Koordiniert wird das Teamwork von der Geschäftsstelle Weiße Stadt Tel Aviv des Bundesministeriums des Innern, für Bau und Heimat (BMI), die beim Amt für Bundesbau (ABB) in Mainz angesiedelt ist.


Facelift für Fassade des Max-Liebling-Hauses


In drei Teams arbeiten je fünf Stuckateur-Auszubildende der Berufsschule und des überbetrieblichen Ausbildungszentrums Leonberg jeweils eine Woche an der Fassade des Max-Liebling-Hauses, sanieren Risse und ertüchtigen den Putz. Den neuen Anstrich besorgen sieben Malerlehrlinge aus verschiedenen deutschen Berufsschulen. Komplettiert wird jedes Team von fünf jungen israelischen Handwerkern. So kommen Auszubildende von der „Israel Antiquities Authority“; auch eine Klasse von Architekturstudenten der Bezalel Universität in Jerusalem ist interessiert. Im Anschluss an den Workshop gewinnen die Azubis aus Deutschland in einem kulturellen Begleitprogramm erste Eindrücke von Israel. Ziele des von der Sto-Stiftung geförderten Projektes sind Bildungsaustausch, interkultureller Erfahrungsgewinn sowie handwerklicher Technik- und Wissenstransfer.


Lebendiger, deutsch-israelischer Begegnungsort


Das künftige White City Center ist Teil des Projektes „Netzwerk Weiße Stadt Tel Aviv“, das vom Bundesministerium des Inneren, für Bau und Heimat (BMI) ideell und finanziell unterstützt wird. Die „Weiße Stadt“ in Tel Aviv mit ihren etwa 4.000 Gebäuden ist ein typisches Beispiel für den durch Bauhaus-Elemente geprägten „Internationalen Stil“. Als moderne Wohnstadt für Emigranten und Flüchtlinge aus Europa in den 1930er- und 1940er-Jahren errichtet, zählt sie seit 2003 zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe, rund die Hälfte der Gebäude steht unter Denkmalschutz. Das neue Architekturzentrum wird Best-Practice-Beispiele für die behutsame Weiterentwicklung dieses einzigartigen baukulturellen Erbes zeigen.



Pressetext und Bildmaterial

Rückfragen beantwortet gerne

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA