Back to the overview

Interior Scholarship | Blog 04/2018 | Carlijn Olde Beverborg

05.12.2018

The Elephant in the Room


When I was 13 years old, children's imagination gave me a fantastic idea that I wanted to share with everyone; what if we can use the movement of the dog wagging his tail and turn this into power to enlighten his leash? Ironically, this idea took me into the direction where I’m now, taking my first steps in the design-world. The combination of estrangement and humour is a present appearance in my work, through the use of untouched sensitive matters translated in a satirical outcome. Right now, I’m following the master-degree Interior Architecture at Piet Zwart Institute in Rotterdam, focussing on the combination of research and design. The scholarship is an incredible supporting aspect to explore the field of design.


One of the first steps in setting up my own design platform is the amazing opportunity I had to participate at During Dutch Design week in Eindhoven, where I exhibited my project ‘The Elephant in the Room’, a series of audio speakers, which is inspired by the metaphor of the same name – an awkward situation which is undeniable, however people pretend it does not exist. The project is an audio-visual alternation of intimacy and reticence, to show a dialogue between human behaviour and space. The three objects also known as elephants, are shaped as an embodiment of awkward-ness, which occupy your space as they gather at the corner of a room. The work compels you to think about the immaterial and your own personal occupation of space. Raw, tactile and fleshy, the objects struggle for their acknowledgment and presence.


The exhibition Ulterior showed the work of sixteen international designers from different art and design backgrounds focussing on a spatial trip to explore new positions on everyday modern life. If you would like to experience the presence of this Elephant in the Room, they will be exhibited again during Object 2019 in Rotterdam!


The next step in my exploration of the design field will be my thesis; questioning the invisible dense world of data-points that disperse signals and waves over the country through barely any surface to subsequently fade the boundary between your home and the outside world. We are currently living in an ecosystem of technology. But, do we have a choice to not live within the character of the modern invisible technological landscape? Can we choose to not live with any modern technology within our domestic interior?


www.carlijnoldebeverborg.nl

Carlijn Olde Beverborg

sto_stiftung_88_2018_interior_scholarship_blog01_carlijn_beverborg_bild01

About Carlijn Olde Beverborg

Carlijn Olde Beverborg lives in Rotterdam. She studies interior design at the Piet Zwart Institute in a master’s programme. She holds a bachelor’s degree in interoir design and styling. After her studies she’s planning to to go abroad for shorter periods of time to explore the design disciplines in other countries. In addition to that she would like to do a Ph.D.

Please direct queries to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

zurück zur Übersicht

Interior Scholarship | Blog 04/2018 | Carlijn Olde Beverborg

05.12.2018

Der Elefant im Raum


Als ich 13 Jahre alt war, hatte ich dank meiner kindlichen Vorstellungskraft eine fantastische Idee, die ich mit allen teilen wollte: Was wäre, wenn wir die Bewegung des wedelnden Schwanzes eines Hundes nutzen und in elektrische Energie verwandeln könnten, um damit seine Leine zu erleuchten? Die Idee führte mich in die Richtung, in der ich mich jetzt befinde, und verhalf mir zu meinen ersten Schritten in der Welt des Designs. Die Kombination von Entfremdung und Humor ist sehr präsent in meiner Arbeit. Ich verwende unberührte, sensible Themen, die in ein satirisches Ergebnis umgesetzt werden. Zur Zeit absolviere ich den Masterstudiengang Innenarchitektur am Piet Zwart Institute in Rotterdam. Der Studiengang konzentriert sich auf die Kombination von Forschung und Design. Das Stipendium ist eine große Stütze bei der Erforschung des Arbeitsfeldes Design.


Einer der ersten Schritte beim Aufbau meiner eigenen Designplattform war die wunderbare Gelegenheit, an der Dutch Design Week in Eindhoven teilnehmen zu können, wo ich mein Projekt „The Elephant in the Room“ ausstellte. Dabei handelt es sich um eine Reihe von Lautsprechern, inspiriert von der gleichnamigen englischen Metapher, die eine offentlichtliche Situation beschreibt, die keiner ansprechen möchte. Das Projekt ist ein audiovisueller Wechsel zwischen Intimität und Zurückhaltung, der einen Dialog zwischen menschlichem Verhalten und Raum aufzeigen soll. Die drei Objekte, auch die Elefanten genannt, verkörpern mit ihrer Form das Unbeholfene, das den Raum des Betrachters einnimmt, wenn es sich in einer Ecke eines Raumes versammelt. Die Arbeit zwingt den Betrachter, über das Immaterielle und die eigene Besetzung von Raum nachzudenken. Roh, taktil und fleischig kämpfen die Objekte um Anerkennung und Präsenz.


Die Ausstellung Ulterior zeigte die Arbeiten von sechzehn internationalen Designern mit unterschiedlichem Kunst- und Designhintergrund: Thema war eine Reise durch den Raum, um neue Positionen im modernen Alltag zu entdecken. Wenn Sie die Anwesenheit dieses „Elephant in the Room“ erleben möchten, besuchen Sie die nächste Object in Rotterdam im Jahr 2019!


Der nächste Schritt in meiner Erforschung der Welt des Designs wird meine Masterarbeit sein. Sie hinterfragt die unsichtbare, dichte Welt der Datenpunkte, die Signale und Wellen über das ganze Land durch nahezu jede Oberfläche hindurch streuen, um anschließend die Grenze zwischen dem eigenen Zuhause und der Außenwelt aufzuheben. Wir leben heute in einem technologischen Ökosystem. Haben wir aber die Wahl, nicht in dieser modernen unsichtbaren Technologielandschaft zu leben? Können wir uns dazu entscheiden, ohne moderne Technologie in unserem Zuhause zu leben?


www.carlijnoldebeverborg.nl

Carlijn Olde Beverborg

sto_stiftung_88_2018_interior_scholarship_blog01_carlijn_beverborg_bild01

Über Carlijn Olde Beverborg

Carlijn Olde Beverborg lebt in Rotterdam. Am Piet Zwart Institut studiert sie derzeit im zweiten Jahr Innenarchitektur als Masterstudiengang. Ihren Bachelor legte sie im Studiengang “Interior Design and Styling” ab. Nach dem Studium überlegt sie, Auslandserfahrung zu sammeln und eine Doktorarbeit zu schreiben.

Weitere Informationen

In der Pressemitteilung zur Juryentscheidung

Rückfragen beantwortet gerne

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA