Back to the overview

Review | Wojciech Kotecki at the November Talks 2018 in Graz

05.12.2018

Architecture between creativity and capital


30 years ago, Poland bore Communism to its final resting place - ending a long tradition of building in the process. Or perhaps it didn’t? On 26 November 2018, to conclude the Sto Foundation’s November Talks in Graz, Wojciech Kotecki, founder of one of the most successful architecture offices in Warsaw, delivered a fascinating insight into a world of architecture that is required to perform the acrobatic feat of reconciling skyscrapers with pre-fabricated concrete slab structures. A challenge he rose to very convincingly.


With a horrifying photograph of the mass grave in Katyn, where in 1940 Soviet soldiers shot somewhere around 22,000 Poles, Wojciech Kotecki touched the emotions of his audience right at the start of his lecture. The task of the BBGK Architects office that he co-founded, and that grew within just five years to a payroll staff of 50, was the creation of a memorial for the victims of this massacre near the citadel in the town centre of Katyn. “How can you transform a memory into architecture?”, he asked himself. “Should we focus on the horror - or instead on the silence?” His office decided to follow a path of discovery for visitors to the site. This first takes visitors down an avenue, chosen as a symbol of where this event took place, the woodland beside Katyn. Illuminated boxes display personal effects that were found on the dead. The only striking architectural intervention is a steep stairway, enclosed between high walls. Even on this photograph, it looks confining and communicates anxiety. The project, which in 2017 won the Mies van der Rohe Award, is intended to demonstrate “the role that architecture can assume when the aim is to speak about history”, states Kotecki.


What can a Town Hall be over and above an office complex? This question was at the heart of the next project, created in the Konstancin-Jeziorna suburbs of Warsaw. For Poland, the answer to this is self-evident: democracy. This is valuable in a country in which it is still young. Wojciech Kotecki sought to express this democratic force by building a Town Hall that merges form and function into a new kind of urbanism. This building was not constructed in a leafy suburb of villas, but instead in one of the poorer districts. A conscious decision was taken to build this structure in brick, cladding a relief pattern that is typical of the Polish rural style. The rest of the building should be clear, geometric and feature a lot of glass – the modern and the traditional blended to successful effect. And the facade absolutely needed to have an imposing clock: one belongs on every town hall. An elegant, filigree staircase appears to float between the different floors and leads to the most important room, the plenary hall. This ‘Symbol of democratic power’ also embodies the rural motif, this time in domestically sourced timber: Democracy feels good. Also, to enable the electorate to reassure itself that its representatives engage in work, a generous glass facade provides a view of the interior to the outside world. The town hall is constructed to the passive house standard and it is also the most sustainable in Poland in energy terms - another pointer towards the modern era.


The Emilia Pavilion was a remnant of the classic Communist pre-fabricated concrete slab style. When it was scheduled for demolition, it was already encircled by two skyscrapers. Wojciech Kotecki and his office intervened, taking the matter right up to the mayor, and managed to rescue the building by dismantling it piece by piece and reassembling it on an appropriate site. “Is that a win-win situation?”, he asks. He is not sure of the answer. Today, the new old building at least has a winter garden that provides scope for social interaction. “Sometimes, architecture can make the impossible possible”, he states.


In the Communist era, all residential housing was in the form of prefabricated houses. The apartments were all identical, and were allocated from a list. When this system was scrapped, this style of building got an extremely bad reputation. Modern residential housing in Poland had to be different - and available on the free market to purchase. However, enthusiasm for capitalism put a stranglehold on the construction of social housing, and that included the prefabricated house. BBGK Architects took it upon itself to set a precedent: The residential building in Sprzeczna, surrounded by fine houses from the 19th century, was designed as a ‘Showcase for prefabricated concrete slab construction’. Red concrete, reduced geometry, visually striking and appealing architecture creating living space for the 21st century, free from the taint of Communism while at the same time being socially appropriate and affordable. “We have successfully destroyed the prejudice about prefabricated concrete slab construction”, states Kotecki. “There are now plans in place for 80,000 new prefabricated apartments”.

w_kotecki

Interview with Wojciech Kotecki

Find the Video-Interview on our

YouTube-Channel.

Please direct queries to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

zurück zur Übersicht

Nachbericht | Wojciech Kotecki bei der November Reihe in Graz

05.12.2018

Architektur zwischen Kreativität und Kapital


Vor 30 Jahren hat Polen den Kommunismus zu Grabe getragen – und mit ihm eine lange Bautradition. Oder doch nicht? Wojciech Kotecki, Gründer eines der erfolgreichsten Architekturbüros in Warschau, lieferte am 26. November 2018 zum Abschluss der Grazer November Talks der Sto-Stiftung spannende Einblicke in eine Architekturwelt, die einen akrobatischen Spagat zwischen Wolkenkratzern und Plattenbauten macht. Und dabei überzeugt.


Mit einem grauenhaften Bild des Massengrabs von Katyn berührte Wojciech Kotecki zu Beginn seines Vortrags das Publikum. In Katyn wurde 1940 ein Massaker an 4.400 polnischen Kriegsgefangenen verübt. Diese Tat gehört zu einer Reihe von Massenmorden an bis zu 25.000 Polen, die von den Sowjets begangen wurden. Der Ort wurde zu einem Symbol für dieses Grauen.


Die Aufgabe des von ihm mitgegründeten Büros BBGK Architects, das innerhalb von fünf Jahren auf 50 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter gewachsen ist, bestand in der Gestaltung einer Gedenkstätte für die Opfer des Massakers in der Nähe der Zitadelle im Stadtzentrum von Katyn. „Wie kann man Erinnerung in Architektur verwandeln?“, fragte er sich. „Sollen wir auf das Grauen setzen – oder lieber auf die Stille?“ Das Büro entschied sich für einen Pfad, den es zu entdecken gilt. Eine Allee symbolisiert den Ort des Geschehens, den Wald von Katyn. Beleuchtete Boxen zeigen persönliche Gegenstände, die bei den Toten gefunden wurden. Die einzig auffallende architektonische Intervention ist eine steile, von hohen Wänden eingefasste Treppe. Beengend und beängstigend wirkt sie bereits auf dem Foto. Das Projekt, das 2017 mit dem Mies van der Rohe Award ausgezeichnet wurde, zeigt, „welche Rolle Architektur übernehmen kann, wenn es darum geht, über Geschichte zu sprechen“, so Kotecki.


Was ist ein Rathaus mehr als ein Bürokomplex? Diese Frage stand im Zentrum des Projekts in den Warschauer Suburbs von Konstancin-Jeziorna. Für einen Polen liegt die Antwort auf der Hand: Es ist die Demokratie, wertvoll in einem Land, in dem sie noch jung ist. Ihr wollte Wojciech Kotecki mit einem Rathausbau Ausdruck verleihen, der Form und Funktion zu einer neuen Art Urbanismus verschmelzen lässt. Der Bau entstand nicht im Villenviertel, sondern in einer ärmeren Gegend. Man entschied sich bewusst für einen Ziegelbau, der sich in ein Reliefmuster kleidet – typisch für den ländlichen Stil Polens. Der Bau ist klar, geometrisch, mit viel Glas – Moderne und Tradition in einem gelungenen Wurf. Die Uhr darf an der Fassade nicht fehlen: Sie gehört auf jedes Rathaus. Eine elegante, filigrane, fast schwebende Stiege führt hinauf in den wichtigsten Raum, den Plenarsaal. In diesem „Symbol der demokratischen Macht“ findet sich das ländliche Muster wieder, auch heimeliges Holz: Demokratie fühlt sich gut an. Und damit das Volk sich vergewissern kann, dass seine Repräsentanten auch arbeiten, gibt eine großzügige Glasfassade den Blick nach innen frei. Das im Passivhausstandard gebaute Rathaus ist das energetisch nachhaltigste in Polen – ein weiterer Fingerzeig in Richtung Moderne.


Der Emilia Pavillon war eines der Überbleibsel des klassisch-kommunistischen Plattenbau-stils. Als er abgerissen werden sollte, war er bereits von zwei Wolkenkratzern umzingelt. Wojciech Kotecki und sein Büro intervenierten bis zum Bürgermeister und schafften es, den Bau zu retten, indem er Stück für Stück abgebaut und auf einem anderen Grundstück wieder errichtet wurde. „Ist das eine Win-win-Situation?“, fragt er sich. Er ist sich nicht sicher. Heute ist das neue, alte Gebäude ein Wintergarten mit Möglichkeiten zur sozialen Interaktion. „Manchmal kann Architektur Unmögliches möglich machen“, sagt er.


Alle Wohnhäuser waren in der kommunistischen Ära Fertighäuser, die Wohnungen glichen sich und wurden zugeteilt. Mit dem Zusammenbruch des Systems bekam die Bauweise einen äußerst schlechten Ruf. Moderne Wohnhäuser in Polen hatten anders zu sein – und sich am freien Markt bewähren. Die Begeisterung für den Kapitalismus erstickte jedoch den sozialen Wohnbau. BBGK Architects schafften daraufhin einen Präzedenzfall: Das Wohnhaus in Sprzeczna, inmitten gediegener Häuser aus dem 19. Jahrhundert, wurde als „Showcase des Plattenbaus“ gestaltet. Roter Beton, klare, reduzierte Geometrie, auffallende und sympathische Architektur, die attraktiven Wohnraum für das 21. Jahrhundert schafft, befreit vom Mief des Kommunismus und dennoch sozial und leistbar. „Wir haben das Vorurteil über den Plattenbau erfolgreich zerstört“, sagt Kotecki. „80.000 neue Wohnungen in Fertigbauweise sind bereits in Planung.“


Programm der November Reihe in Graz

w_kotecki

Interview mit Wojciech Kotecki

Das Video-Interview in Englisch finden Sie

auf dem YouTube-Kanal der Sto-Stiftung.

Rückfragen beantwortet gerne

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA