Please select language
Back to the overview

Review | Toni Girones at the November Conferences 2018 in Milan

05.12.2018

Topographies in time: The experience of architecture


Catalonian architect Toni Gironés Saderra was the third guests of this year’s November Conferences in Milan. The lecture, entitled “topographies in time: the experience of architecture”, began explaining the keyword at the base of his architectural view, “habitability”. For Gironés, the architecture is the space that lies between man and the place he has chosen to live in. For this reason, Gironés pointed out how the achievement of the maximum level of habitability should be the goal of any building, every time different and adaptable to its environment, materials and users’ needs. His works, realised all around Spain and exhibited at the 15th International Architecture Show at Biennale di Venezia “Reporting from the Front”, featuring a suspended cloud made by white translucent panels that moves based on visitors’ body temperature, highlight every time the thin balance between natural and anthropic elements. The lecture was all about the evolution of time and the coexistence between archaeological sites and the contemporary city, made by warehouses, agricultural field and new infrastructures.


The ancient Roman city of Iesso, found in the subsoil of the modern town of Guissona, was the first design displayed in the evening. The excavation of the site has been used to create lamination surfaces with the objective to preserve the old urban streets from floods while providing a better understanding of the old baths and natatio, here described by canopies that go from brown to white to give a variation in the disposition scheme. The interpretation of the different elements used typical materials coming from the archaeologists and the farmer of the surrounded areas, as a way to host the spontaneity of life while awaiting future archaeological campaigns.


“When designing, we try to understand the site and its conditions in the most objective possible way, thus interpreting architecture as a frame in which the user interacts with the environment and adapts it to their needs.” With this meaning, in the natural setting of Turons de les Tres Creus, Gironés built a sort of natural viewpoint on the ruins of an important settlement prior to the construction of Via Augusta. The intervention was a backfill of the Roman traces, improving the understanding of the Roman walls and highlighting the container with gabion walls designed by superimposed steel meshes to contain and underline the pre-existence and the new elements.


The same idea of fragmentation has been pursued by Gironés for the theatre of Tarraco, where he designed a sort of Tresoldi structure made completely out of steel wires which create impact and engage people to come and have a walk inside the ephemeral space. In the contemporary theatre, time is used to build a futuristic scene that relates to its past, giving the idea to be in the same space but in a different time.


The capability of Gironés resides in his pure respect of the past and the use of raw materials orchestrated every time to promote ever-changing experiences. Through the physical properties of materials and their use on site, Gironés envision these contemporary landscapes made by history, the industrial reality and the surrounding naturalscape.


In 2002 and 2003, the archaeological prospection and excavation near the historic centre of Vilassar de Dalt unveiled two adjacent ovens probably dated to the late Roman period. Gironés created a museum space to cover the historical findings sheltered by a big terrace overlooking the park and the sea. Three large cylindrical skylights above each oven give a glimpse of them from the terrace. Outside, a rectilinear wall of gabions filled with white and orange granite stone blocks is used as entrance, featuring on each side openings to promote natural ventilation. On the central panel, a mirrored door made by polished reflecting metal stand out from the stone wall. From the interior, the chamber is hermetic, a sacred space that protects the site from banality. Outside, it generously reveals its beauty contents to the occasional visitor that passes by.


Gironés was claimed by the audience for his inspiring lecture, very personal and devoted to a holistic approach that mix past, present and future by working with raw materials, elegant wireframe structures and the environmental elements of the site.

toni_girones_eng

Interview with Toni Girones

Find the Video-Interview on our
YouTube-Channel.

Please direct queries to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

zurück zur Übersicht

Nachbericht | Toni Gironès bei der November Reihe in Mailand

05.12.2018

Topografien im Wandel der Zeit: Erlebnis Architektur


Der katalanische Architekt Toni Gironés Saderra, Spezialist in der Revitalisierung von Ausgrabungsstätten, war der dritte Gast der diesjährigen November Reihe in Mailand. Den Vortrag mit dem Titel „Topographien im Wandel der Zeit: Erlebnis Architektur“ begann er mit der Erläuterung von „Bewohnbarkeit“, Grundlage seiner architektonischen Sichtweise. Für Gironés ist Architektur der Raum zwischen dem Menschen und dem Ort, an dem er sich niedergelassen hat. Nach seiner Vorstellung soll das Erreichen maximaler Bewohnbarkeit das Ziel jedes Gebäudes sein, dabei jederzeit veränderbar und an seine Umgebung, seine Materialien und seine Bedürfnisse anzupassen. Seine Werke, die in ganz Spanien zu sehen sind und auf der 15. Internationalen Architekturausstellung der Biennale di Venezia „Reporting from the Front“ ausgestellt wurden, zeigen eine schwebende Wolke aus weißen, lichtdurchlässigen Paneelen, die sich je nach Körpertemperatur des Besuchers bewegt und das empfindliche Gleichgewicht zwischen natürlichen und anthropischen Elementen hervorhebt.


Sein Vortrag befasste sich mit Entwicklung und Beziehung archäologischer Stätten und moderner Stadt. Das erste Modell zeigte die antike römische Stadt Iesso, die sich unter der Ortschaft Guissona befindet. Der Aushub der Ausgrabung wurde genutzt, um Laminierflächen zu schaffen, welche die alten Straßen vor Überschwemmungen schützen und gleichzeitig ein besseres Verständnis der Lae der alten Bäder und der Natatio (im Freien gelegene Wasserbecken) vermitteln, hier beschrieben durch Vordächer, die von Braun zu Weiß übergehen. Verwendet wurden typische Materialien, die von den Archäologen und Landwirten der umliegenden Gebiete stammen.


„Bei der Gestaltung versuchen wir, den Standort und seine Bedingungen so objektiv wie möglich zu verstehen. Architektur wird als Rahmen interpretiert, in dem der Benutzer mit der Umgebung interagiert und ihn an seine Bedürfnisse anpasst.“ Dies berücksichtigend, errichtete Gironés in der Umgebung der Turons de les Tres Creus eine Art natürlichen Aussichtspunkt – auf den Ruinen einer vor dem Bau der Via Augusta wichtigen Siedlung. Behälter mit Gabionenwänden aus übereinander gelegten Stahlmatten markieren die römischen Mauern und verbessern das Verständnis für die antiken Anlagen. Auf diese Weise rahmen neue Elemente die Präexistenz der Stadt.


Diese Fragmentierung verfolgte Gironés auch beim Theater von Tarraco in Tarragona, wo er eine Art Tresoldi-Struktur entwarf, die vollständig aus Stahldrähten besteht und so einen flüchtigen Raum schafft, der auf Menschen wirkt und dazu anregt, den Raum zu erkunden. Im zeitgenössischen Theater wird Zeit genutzt, um eine futuristische Szene aufzubauen, die sich auf ihre Vergangenheit bezieht und die Vorstellung vermittelt, sich im gleichen Raum, aber in einer anderen Zeit zu befinden.


Die Fähigkeit von Gironés liegt in seiner minutiösen Berücksichtigung der Vergangenheit und der Verwendung von aufeinander abgestimmten Materialien, die für ständig wechselnde Erfahrungen sorgt. Damit schafft er Bilder zeitgenössischer Landschaften aus Geschichte, industrieller Realität und umgebender Natur.


In den Jahren 2002 und 2003 stießen Archäologen in der Nähe des historischen Zentrums von Vilassar de Dalt auf zwei nebeneinanderliegende Öfen aus wahrscheinlich spätrömischer Zeit. Gironés schuf einen Museumsraum mit einer großen Terrasse mit Blick auf den Park und das Meer, der zugleich die historischen Funde schützt. Drei große zylindrische Oberlichter über jedem Ofen geben von der Terrasse aus den Blick auf sie frei. Im Außenbereich markiert eine geradlinige Gabionenwand, die mit weißen und orangefarbenen Granitsteinblöcken gefüllt ist, den Eingang. Sie weist auf jeder Seite Öffnungen für eine natürliche Belüftung auf. An der Mittelplatte ragt eine Spiegeltür aus poliertem, reflektierendem Metall heraus. Von innen gesehen ist die Kammer hermetisch abgeschlossen, ein heiliger Raum, der den Ort vor Banalität schützt. Von draußen offenbart sie dem Besucher großzügig ihre Schönheit.



Programm der November Reihe in Mailand

toni_girones

Interview mit Toni Gironès

Das Video-Interview auf Englisch finden Sie

auf dem YouTube-Kanal der Sto-Stiftung.

Rückfragen beantwortet gerne

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA