Back to the overview

Review | José Morales & Sara de Giles at the November Talks 2018 in Graz

21.11.2018

Conquer the public space!


Urban public space in a Mediterranean climate, historical old towns between modernity and tourism, all bridged by the role of architecture: On 12 November 2018, the team of the Spanish office of MGM Morales de Giles Arquitectos brought insights into architectural accomplishments from Seville to Graz. This lecture was the second in the series of the 2018 November Talks in the main hall, the ‘Aula’ at the technical university of TU Graz, arranged by the Sto Foundation.


Creating Better Towns - that was the vision espoused by José Morales and Sara de Giles, the architect duo from Seville. “We would like these towns to become more human. As architects, we are able to provide people with this gift”, stated de Giles has she outlined their intention. The intention to extend public space runs like a golden thread through this vision, one to which the projects of this office are committed, as Giles puts it, with the aim not of growing but of deriving more benefit from compactness.


For the Universidad Pablo de Olavida in Seville, MGM created a new building with 24 lecture theatres and institute rooms. Located on the outskirts of Seville, this building is meant to satisfy the wish for more space for this educational institution. However, there was also a wish to avoid a complete campus with its own roads. “We have not built a town”, states de Giles with emphasis. “We wanted a single building that floats freely in its surroundings and that requires no pre-urbanisation”. Embedded between the railway and the existing campus premises, the building has a structure that creates its own spaces: offset blocks, the hallmark characteristic of MGM, lets volumetric shapes form in a way reminiscent of caves hewn into a cliff face. The basement level remains free of elements. A fence was also deemed to be superfluous: it was more important to create a connection with the surrounding area.


The Instituto Cartujo hospital centre was erected in the Cartuja Technopark. Accessible right around the clock, with good public transport connections and featuring building elements arranged strategically; these were the criteria defining the new building. Examination rooms were to be located at basement level with patient rooms and wards on the upper floors. The dominant external features of this building are once again offset boxes, this time made of white perforated sheet metal, combined with glass. This combination enables natural light to flow into the building while also providing plenty of privacy. In the interior, boxes made of filigree cages are suspended from the ceiling like stalactites, creating a geometric space. Here, and this is a very desirable climate feature in Seville, rain can enter freely, while wind provides ventilation. Interior and exterior spaces merge fluidly, and public space is extended.


Located on the Campus Urban Paris-Saclay is an emblematic project: the new learning centre in the heart of the university. The integration of an existing wide access road and the creation of open spaces for students were the challenges for this architectural project. José Morales and Sara de Giles decided in favour of an organically shaped, airy and flat building, decorated by white louvres, enclosing inside itself the access road with its pedestrian traffic and wherever the surrounding trees occupied their own space, featuring recessed bays as though almighty nature had taken itself a bite out of man-made space. “There is no boundary between interior and exterior”, emphasised José Morales. Anyone walking through the new centre will not be able to tell whether they are inside a building or already outside in a public space - and that is the whole point, opined the duo. “In Graz it is usual for public space to be truly public. We also wish to create free spaces like that where we live”, explained Morales as he outlined their point of view.


The monastery of Santa Maria de los Reyes is the heart of an overlooked and semi-dilapidated part of the historical old town of Seville. In keeping with many old town centres, this one in Seville has become a museum for tourists while all of the original inhabitants have moved away. By converting and expanding this monastery, MGM wishes to upgrade the premises and turn them into an attractive venue for art and culture. Their project won the vote of the jury in the competition. Carpet-like areas of cobblestones interconnect this collection of historical buildings that have been renovated in a very low-key style. The former vegetable garden of the monastery has been retained as a free space and, despite great financial bottlenecks, this duo of architects has been able to transform the space around the monastery into a footpath through past history, and at the same time to turn it into an exhibition space for art, as well as a magical place of discovery. “The public space belongs to people”, stated de Giles with conviction. Instead of leaving it in a dilapidated and neglected state, we must make it accessible”.

yt_giles_morales_eng

Interview with José Morales & Sara de Giles

Find the Video-Interview on our

YouTube-Channel.

Please direct queries to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

zurück zur Übersicht

Nachbericht | José Morales & Sara de Giles bei der November Reihe in Graz

21.11.2018

Erobert den öffentlichen Raum!


Der urbane öffentliche Raum im mediterranen Klima, historische Altstädte zwischen Moderne und Tourismus und dazwischen die Rolle der Architektur: Das Team des spanischen Büros MGM Morales de Giles Arquitectos brachte am 12. November 2018 Einblicke in architektonische Positionen aus Sevilla nach Graz. Der Vortrag war der zweite der Reihe in der Aula der TU Graz, veranstaltet von der Sto Stiftung.


Bessere Städte zu schaffen – das haben sich José Morales und Sara de Giles, Architektenduo aus Sevilla, als ihre Vision vorgenommen. „Wir möchten, dass Städte menschlicher werden. Als Architekten können wir den Menschen dieses Geschenk machen“, beschrieb de Giles ihre Intention. Wie ein roter Faden zieht sich die Absicht, den öffentlichen Raum zu erweitern, durch die Projekte des Büros, das nicht zu sehr wachsen, sondern sich seine Kompaktheit zum Vorteil machen möchte.


Für die Universidad Pablo de Olavida in Sevilla schuf MGM einen Neubau mit 24 Hörsälen und Institutsräumen. In der Peripherie von Sevilla gelegen, soll der Bau den Wunsch nach mehr Platz für die Bildungseinrichtung erfüllen. Einen kompletten Campus mit eigenen Straßen wollte man aber vermeiden. „Wir haben keine Stadt gebaut“, betont de Giles, „wir wollten ein einziges Gebäude, das frei in der Landschaft schwebt und das keine Prä-Urbanisation benötigt.“ Eingebettet zwischen Eisenbahn und dem bestehenden Campusgelände, schafft sich das Gebäude durch seine Strukur eigene Räume: Verschobene Blöcke, das Markenzeichen von MGM, lassen Volumina entstehen, die wie eine Höhle in den Fels gehauen wirken. Das Untergeschoß bleibt frei von Elementen. Auf einen Zaun wurde ebenso verzichtet: Die Verbindung zur Umgebung war wichtig.


Im Technopark von Cartuja entstand das Krankenhauszentrum Instituto Cartujo. Zugänglichkeit rund um die Uhr, eine funktionale Anbindung an den öffentlichen Verkehr und die strategische Anordnung der Bauelemente waren Ansprüche an das neue Gebäude. Im Untergeschoß sollten Untersuchungsräume ihren Platz finden, die Patientenzimmer in den oberen Stockwerken. Bei der äußeren Anmutung des Baus dominieren wieder verschobene Boxen, dieses Mal aus weißem, perforiertem Blech, kombiniert mit Glas. Diese Verbindung lässt natürliches Licht hindurchströmen und schafft dennoch Privatsphäre. Im Inneren hängen ebenfalls Boxen aus luftigem Gitter wie Stalagtiten von der Decke und schaffen einen geometrischen Raum. Hier fällt der – in Sevilla klimabedingt sehr erwünschte – Regen frei durch und der Wind sorgt für Belüftung. Innen- und Außenraum verschwimmen ineinander, der öffentliche Raum wird erweitert.


Auf dem Campus Urban Paris-Saclay steht ein emblematisches Projekt: das neue Lernzentrum im Herzen der Universität. Die Integration einer bestehenden breiten Durchgangsstraße und die Schaffung offener Räume für die Studierenden waren die Herausforderungen an die Architektur. José Morales und Sara de Giles entschieden sich für ein organisch geformtes, luftiges und flaches Gebäude. Gesäumt wird es von weißen Lamellen und beherbergt in seinem Inneren die Durchgangsstraße mit ihrem Fußgängerverkehr. Überall da, wo gewachsene Bäume ihren Platz einfordern, weist es Einbuchtungen auf, als hätte die mächtige Natur in den menschengemachten Raum hineingebissen. „Es gibt keine Grenze zwischen Innenraum und Außenraum“, betont José Morales. Wer durch das neue Zentrum marschiert, kann sich nicht entscheiden, ob er noch innerhalb eines Gebäudes ist oder schon draußen im öffentlichen Raum. Darauf komme es an, meint das Duo. „In Graz ist es üblich, dass der öffentliche Raum wirklich öffentlich ist. Solche freien Räume wollen wir auch bei uns schaffen“, erklärt Morales ihren Standpunkt.


Das Kloster Santa Maria de los Reyes ist das Herz eines verlassenen, halb verfallenen Teils der historischen Altstadt Sevillas. Wie viele alte Stadtzentren ist auch jenes in Sevilla zu einem Museum für Touristen geworden, während die ursprünglichen Einwohner alle wegzogen. Mit der Adaptation und Erweiterung des Klosters wollte das Studio MGM das Kloster aufwerten und zu einem attraktiven Zentrum für Kunst und Kultur machen. Ihr Projekt überzeugte die Jury beim Wettbewerb. Teppiche aus Kopfsteinpflaster verbinden die einzelnen historischen Gebäude, die sanft renoviert wurden. Der ehemalige Gemüsegarten des Klosters bleibt als freier Raum erhalten, und trotz großer finanzieller Engpässe gelang es dem Architektenduo, den Raum rund um das Kloster in einen Spazierpfad durch die Vergangenheit zu verwandeln, der gleichzeitig zum Ausstellungsraum für Kunst und zum magischen Ort der Entdeckung wurde. „Der öffentliche Raum gehört den Menschen“, betont de Giles. „Anstatt ihn verfallen und vereinsamen zu lassen, müssen wir ihn zugänglich machen.“



Programm der November Reihe in Graz

yt_giles_morales_eng

Interview mit José Morales & Sara de Giles

Das Video-Interview in Englisch finden Sie

auf dem YouTube-Kanal der Sto-Stiftung.

Rückfragen beantwortet gerne

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA