Back to the overview

ARCH+ Internship | Blog 2/2018 | Lorenz Seidl

15.05.2018
Scholarship recipients Ilkin Akpinar and Lorenz Seidl compiled a land policy glossary for the ARCH+ issue 231 (
Scholarship recipients Ilkin Akpinar and Lorenz Seidl compiled a land policy glossary for the ARCH+ issue 231 ("The Property Issue"). Photo: Sto Foundation/ARCH +

From "L" like "land fund" to "R" like "right of first refusal". A glossary on land policy


The ARCH+ issue 231 ("The Property Issue") discusses social and political perspectives for a new architecture practice and focuses on the issue of land with regard to ownership structures and access possibilities as the basis for the production of space. Together with Ilkin Akpinar, I put together the land policy glossary that explains the most important legal terms.


To do so, we researched topics like land funds, land reserve policy, land value tax, the tax on increases in land value, heritable building rights, planning compensation of values and right of first refusal. Our task was to go through the text of legislation, to make the material interesting to readers and to create cross references. It was important to us to provide an overview of the control mechanisms of public authorities, whereby the focus was on collective development models such as the community land trust, housing cooperatives or apartment building syndicates. The example of the property tax, which continues to be calculated on the basis of antiquated land values, illustrates the topicality and need for land reform.


To me it was particularly exciting to see how an initial idea is turned into a finished article: how decisions related to content and layout were debated by the editorial staff, texts were proofread and image concepts were developed. It was a delight to hold the first ARCH+ issues with one of my articles in my hands.


Lorenz Seidl

Lorenz Seidl is a Sto Foundation and ARCH+ association scholar. Photo: Sto Foundation/ARCH +
Lorenz Seidl is a Sto Foundation and ARCH+ association scholar. Photo: Sto Foundation/ARCH +

Lorenz Seidl studies architecture at the Technical University of Vienna and his work experience includes a stint at NMPB Architekten in Vienna. During his studies, his interest shifted from practical construction issues toward theoretical, urbanistic questions – primarily by intensely dealing with city and territory at the Institute for Urban Development. Lorenz is interested in a critical architectural position that increasingly focuses on people and society.

Please direct queries to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

Bitte Sprache auswählen
zurück zur Übersicht

ARCH+ Praktikum | Blog 02/2018 | Lorenz Seidl

15.05.2018
Die Stipendiaten Ilkin Akpinar und Lorenz Seidl verfassten ein Glossar zur Bodenpolitik für die ARCH+ Ausgabe 231 The Property Issue. Foto: Sto-Stiftung / ARCH+
Die Stipendiaten Ilkin Akpinar und Lorenz Seidl verfassten ein Glossar zur Bodenpolitik für die ARCH+ Ausgabe 231 The Property Issue. Foto: Sto-Stiftung / ARCH+

Von B wie Bodenfonds zu V wie Vorkaufsrecht. Ein Glossar zur Bodenpolitik


Die ARCH+ Ausgabe 231 "The Property Issue" diskutiert gesellschaftliche und politische Perspektiven für eine neue Architekturpraxis und stellt dabei die Bodenfrage in Hinblick auf Eigentumsverhältnisse und Zugangsmöglichkeiten als Basis für die Raumproduktion in den Fokus. Gemeinsam mit Ilkin Akpinar habe ich dafür das Glossar zur Bodenpolitik verfasst, das die wichtigsten juristischen Begriffe erklärt.


Dabei recherchierten wir unter anderem zu Themen wie Bodenfonds, Bodenvorratspolitik, Bodenwertsteuer, Bodenwertzuwachssteuer, Erbbaurecht, Planungswertausgleich und Vorkaufsrecht. Es galt eine Menge an Gesetzestexten durchzuarbeiten, die Materie für die Leserschaft interessant aufzubereiten und Querverweise herzustellen. Wichtig war uns, einen Überblick über die Steuerungsmöglichkeiten seitens der öffentlichen Hand zu geben, wobei kollektive Entwicklungsmodelle wie etwa der Community Land Trust, Genossenschaften oder das Mietshäuser Syndikat im Vordergrund standen. Am Beispiel der Grundsteuer, die sich nach wie vor auf Basis veralteter Bodenwerte berechnet, wird die Aktualität und Notwendigkeit einer Bodenreform deutlich.


Für mich war es extrem spannend zu sehen, wie aus einer ersten Idee ein fertiger Beitrag entsteht: wie inhaltliche und formale Entscheidungen in der Redaktion diskutiert, Texte lektoriert und Bildkonzepte entwickelt werden. Es war eine Freude meinen ersten in der ARCH+ publizierten Text dann in Händen zu halten.


Lorenz Seidl

Lorenz Seidl ist Stipendiat der Sto Stiftung und des ARCH+ Vereins. Foto: Sto-Stiftung / ARCH+
Lorenz Seidl ist Stipendiat der Sto Stiftung und des ARCH+ Vereins. Foto: Sto-Stiftung / ARCH+

Lorenz Seidl studiert Architektur an der Technischen Universität Wien und arbeitete unter anderem bei NMPB Architekten in Wien. Im Laufe des Studiums verlagerte sich sein Interesse vor allem durch die intensive Auseinandersetzung mit Stadt und Territorium am Institut für Städtebau von der baulichen Praxis zu theoretischen, urbanistischen Fragestellungen. Lorenz interessiert sich für eine kritische Architekturposition, die sich wieder vermehrt am Mensch und der Gesellschaft orientiert.

Rückfragen beantwortet gerne

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA