Back to the overview

ARCH+ Internship | Blog 02/2018 | Ilkin Akpinar

15.05.2018
ARCH+ 231 printing plate: The Property Issue. Photo: Sto Foundation/ARCH +
ARCH+ 231 printing plate: The Property Issue. Photo: Sto Foundation/ARCH +

"Property means responsibility! Its use should also serve the common good"


During the second part of my internship, I focused primarily on the ARCH+ issue 231 "The Property Issue" – Von der Bodenfrage und neuen Gemeingütern. I concentrated on the compilation of a glossary on the topic of land policy, which I wrote together with Lorenz Seidl. With regard to the public authorities, what kinds of control methods exist?


For this issue, focus was placed on three areas: The active land policy of the public authorities, the collective development model and the passive land policy through taxes and compensation payments. The latter is currently quite a controversial issue. This week, the constitutional court classified property tax as unconstitutional in its current form – with a total of 13 billion euros a year, it is one of the most important municipal sources of revenue. To date, this has been levied on land including its development, whereby the tax rate is determined via unit values which are significantly outdated and no longer commensurate with the actual land values. In Western Germany, the assessment basis is based on the land values of 1964, while Eastern Germany utilises those from before the Second World War (1935). Furthermore, it does not matter if there are ruins or a property on the land boasting a tripled value thanks to the building boom – the assessment basis remains the same.


There are many alternative suggestions, and these have been formulated since the 1970s. Hans-Jochen Vogel, the then head mayor of Munich and then federal minister for Regional Planning, Building and Urban Development, reported in ARCH+ 231 regarding his understanding of land and property as a collaborative, non-negotiable commodity, comparable with water and air, and also his land reform based on this which had originally been scuppered. Maybe the time is now.


Ilkin Akpinar

Ilkin Akpinar is a Sto Foundation and ARCH+ association scholar. Photo: Sto Foundation/ARCH +
Ilkin Akpinar is a Sto Foundation and ARCH+ association scholar. Photo: Sto Foundation/ARCH +

Ilkin Akpinar

Ilkin Evin Akpinar is a graduate of TU Berlin. She was awarded a 6-month scholarship to work on "The Land Question". Against the backdrop of increasing land speculation and privatisation of public spaces, this question is defining our coexistence to an ever greater extent.

Please direct queries to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

zurück zur Übersicht

ARCH+ Praktikum | Blog 02/2018 | Ilkin Akpinar

15.05.2018
Druckplatte der ARCH+ 231: The Property Issue. Foto: Sto-Stiftung / ARCH+
Druckplatte der ARCH+ 231: The Property Issue. Foto: Sto-Stiftung / ARCH+

„Eigentum verpflichtet! Sein Gebrauch soll zugleich dem Wohle der Allgemeinheit dienen.“


Der zweite Teil meines Praktikums konzentrierte sich vor allem auf die ARCH+ Ausgabe 231 "The Property Issue" – Von der Bodenfrage und neuen Gemeingütern. Mein Schwerpunkt lag auf der Zusammenstellung eines Glossars zum Thema Bodenpolitik, den ich gemeinsam mit Lorenz Seidl geschrieben habe. Welche Steuerungsmöglichkeiten gibt es eigentlich seitens der öffentlichen Hand?


Bei der Fragestellung lag der Fokus auf drei Feldern, der aktiven Bodenpolitik der öffentlichen Hand, kollektiver Entwicklungsmodelle und der passiven Bodenpolitik mittels Steuern und Ausgleichszahlung. Letztere zeigt sich derzeit besonders brisant. Das Verfassungsgericht hat diese Woche die Grundsteuer in der bestehenden Form als verfassungswidrig eingestuft – mit 13 Milliarden Euro im Jahr eine der wichtigsten kommunalen Einnahmequellen. Diese Abgabe wird bis dato auf das Eigentum eines Grundstücks einschließlich dessen Bebauung erhoben, wobei die Steuerhöhe anhand von Einheitswerten ermittelt wird, die längst veraltet sind und mit den realen Bodenwerten in keinem Verhältnis mehr stehen. In Westdeutschland basiert die Bemessungsgrundlage auf den Bodenwerten von 1964, in Ostdeutschland auf jenen von 1935, vor dem 2. Weltkrieg. Dazu kommt, dass egal ist, ob auf dem Boden eine Ruine oder eine Immobilie steht, dessen Wert sich durch den Bauboom verdreifacht hat – die Messgrundlage bleibt dieselbe.


Alternative Vorschläge gibt es viele, und werden schon seit den 1970er-Jahren formuliert. Hans-Jochen Vogel, damals Oberbürgermeister von München und dann Bundesminister für Raumordnung, Bauwesen und Städtebau, berichtet in der ARCH+ 231 über sein Verständnis von Grund und Boden als gemeinschaftliches, nicht handelbares Gut, vergleichbar mit Wasser und Luft und seine darauf basierende Bodenreform, die damals scheiterte. Vielleicht ist die Zeit nun reif.


Ilkin Akpinar

Ilkin Akpinar ist Stipendiatin der Sto Stiftung und des ARCH+ Vereins. Foto: Sto-Stiftung / ARCH+
Ilkin Akpinar ist Stipendiatin der Sto Stiftung und des ARCH+ Vereins. Foto: Sto-Stiftung / ARCH+

Über Ilkin Akpinar

Ilkin Evin Akpinar ist Absolventin der TU Berlin. Sie erhielt ein sechsmonatiges Stipendium, um an der „Bodenfrage“ zu arbeiten. Diese Frage bestimmt vor dem Hintergrund der zunehmenden Bodenspekulation und Privatisierung öffentlicher Räume immer stärker unser Zusammenleben.

Rückfragen beantwortet gerne

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA