Please select language
Back to the overview

ARCH+ Internship | Blog 1/2018 | Nils Fröhling

04.04.2018

From content conception to the finished issue


Following the end of the "Concrete Utopias" exhibition, on whose implementation I have worked during the first two months of my scholarship, I am now focusing on the issue of "commoning" – the creation of systems to manage joint resources. I'm reading up on historic and current urban policy processes, researching different types of participation and collecting the views of different architects and politicians on the issue.


Topics range from post-World War II social housing in the French "banlieue rouge" and the Japanese metabolism to the present-day effects of platform capitalism. I am processing the results in the form of project descriptions and chronological representations for the publication.


In addition to content-related research, the visual aspect also plays a key role. In weekly meetings, the visual presentation of each article is discussed and the photo editors search for appropriate photos, plans and drawings. Following the practical work I did for the exhibition to start my scholarship, it is interesting to now get to know the individual production stages of a publication and to experience the transformation from content conception to a concrete issue.


Nils Fröhling

Nils Fröhling is a Sto Foundation and ARCH+ association scholar. Photo: Sto Foundation/ARCH +
Nils Fröhling is a Sto Foundation and ARCH+ association scholar. Photo: Sto Foundation/ARCH +

Nils Fröhling studied architecture and urban design at the University of Stuttgart. As part of his bachelor's programme, he spent a semester at the Arkitektskolen Aarhus, Denmark, and also worked as an undergraduate assistant at the Institute for Spatial Conception and Design of Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Markus Allmann and the Institute for Building Structures and Structural Design of Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jan Knippers.

Please direct queries to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

zurück zur Übersicht

ARCH+ Praktikum | Blog 01/2018 | Nils Fröhling

04.04.2018

Von der inhaltlichen Konzeption bis zur fertigen Ausgabe


Nach Ende der Ausstellung „Concrete Utopias“, an dessen Umsetzung ich die ersten beiden Monate meines Stipendiums mitgewirkt habe, beschäftige ich mich nun mit dem Thema „Commoning“, was im Deutschen mit "Gemeinschaffen" übersetzt wird. Ich lese mich in historische und aktuelle Vorgänge der Stadtpolitik ein, recherchiere zu unterschiedlichen Formen der Partizipation und sammle Haltungen verschiedener Architekten und Politiker zu dem Thema.


Das Themenspektrum reicht dabei vom sozialen Wohnungsbau in den französischen "banlieue rouge" der Nachkriegszeit, über den japanischen Metabolismus bis zu heutigen Auswirkungen des Plattformkapitalismus. Die Resultate bereite ich in Form von Projektbeschreibungen und chronologischen Darstellungen für die Publikation auf.


Neben der inhaltlichen Recherche spielt die visuelle Ebene auch eine wichtige Rolle. In wöchentlichen Besprechungen wird jeder Beitrag daraufhin diskutiert und bei der Bildredaktion entsprechend nach Fotografien, Plänen und Zeichnungen gesucht. Nach der praktischen Umsetzung der Ausstellung zu Beginn des Stipendiums ist es sehr interessant für mich, die einzelnen Stadien der Produktion einer Publikation kennenzulernen und die Transformation von der inhaltlichen Konzeption zu einer konkreten Ausgabe mitzuerleben.


Nils Fröhling

Nils Fröhling ist Stipendiat der Sto Stiftung und des ARCH+ Vereins. Foto: Sto-Stiftung / ARCH+
Nils Fröhling ist Stipendiat der Sto Stiftung und des ARCH+ Vereins. Foto: Sto-Stiftung / ARCH+

Über Nils Fröhling

Nils Fröhling studierte Architektur und Stadtplanung an der Universität Stuttgart. Im Rahmen seines Bachelorstudiums hat er ein Semester an der Arkitektskolen Aarhus, Dänemark, verbracht und arbeitete zudem als studentische Hilfskraft am Institut für Raumkonzeptionen und Entwerfen von Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Markus Allmann und dem Institut für Tragkonstruktion und Konstruktives Entwerfen bei Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jan Knippers.

Rückfragen beantwortet gerne

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA