Please select language
Back to the overview

ARCH+ Internship | Blog 1/2018 | Ilkin Akpinar

04.04.2018

The Land Question: Policy instruments | Foundation course: From Bauhaus to Silicon Valley


At the moment I'm getting to grips with 'The Land Question', which will be a focal point of the first publication in 2018. In addition to other things, it looks at the question of the relationship of property and the production of space against the backdrop of increasing land speculation and privatisation. Also, how cities deal with "The Land Question" and what kind of policy instruments they develop to help find solutions and alternatives to the current situation. How much is already privatised and what is the situation like in other European countries in comparison with Germany?


Stockholm is a very exciting example, since 70% of the land is publicly owned and the community is subject to heritable building rights. In order to provide an overview, we are currently compiling a glossary that deals with legal, tax-related and property models. For this, I am carrying out significant research and speaking to experts such as Andreas Weeger, research associates representing the Greens in Parliament or parties involved with the "Regenbogenfabrik" alternative project in Berlin Kreuzberg.


In December, I was also able to closely follow the internationally staffed, one-day symposium "project bauhaus. Foundation course: From Bauhaus to Silicon Valley" at the forum HKW (Haus der Kulturen der Welt). It concerns critical inventory and the updating of Bauhaus ideas for the multi-annual undertaking by the ARCH+ organisation. Guests were researchers such as the Stanford professor Fred Turner, as well as artists such as Morehshin Allahyari, Shaina Anand and Paloma Strelitz, architects such as Reinier de Graaf from OMA and scientists Orit Halpern, Denisa Kera and Jussi Parikka.

Ilkin Akpinar is a Sto Foundation and ARCH+ association scholar. Photo: Sto Foundation/ARCH +
Ilkin Akpinar is a Sto Foundation and ARCH+ association scholar. Photo: Sto Foundation/ARCH +

Ilkin Akpinar

Ilkin Akpinar studied architecture at TU Berlin where, in 2016, she was an undergraduate assistant for Stefanie Bürkle's exhibition project "Migrating Spaces" at the forum HKW (Haus der Kulturen der Welt) in Berlin and the Salt Gallery in Istanbul.

Please direct queries to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

zurück zur Übersicht

ARCH+ Praktikum | Blog 01/2018 | Ilkin Akpinar

04.04.2018

Bodenfrage: Politische Instrumente | Vorkurs: Vom Bauhaus zum Silicon Valley


Derzeit arbeite ich an dem Thema „Bodenfrage“, was ein Schwerpunkt der ersten Publikation 2018 sein wird. Es geht darin unter anderem um die Frage nach dem Verhältnis von Eigentum und Raumproduktion vor dem Hintergrund zunehmender Bodenspekulation und Privatisierung. Wie gehen Städte mit der Bodenfrage um und was für politische Instrumente entwickeln sie, um Lösungen und Alternativen zur jetzigen Situation zu finden. Wie viel ist eigentlich bereits privatisiert und wie sieht es im Vergleich zu Deutschland in anderen europäischen Ländern aus?


Stockholm ist hier als Beispiel sehr spannend, weil 70 Prozent des Bodens in öffentlicher Hand ist und die Kommune mit Erbbaurecht agiert. Für einen Überblick stellen wir derzeit ein Glossar zusammen, das sich mit rechtlichen, steuerlichen und Eigentumsmodellen auseinandersetzt. Dafür recherchiere ich viel und führe Gespräche mit Experten wie etwa Andreas Weeger, wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter der Grünen im Bundestag, oder Beteiligten des Alternativprojekts Regenbogenfabrik in Berlin Kreuzberg.


Außerdem konnte ich im Dezember das international besetzte, eintägige Symposium „projekt bauhaus. Vorkurs: Vom Bauhaus zum Silicon Valley“ im Haus der Kulturen der Welt hautnah mitverfolgen. Es geht bei der von ARCH+ Verein getragenen, mehrjährig angelegten Unternehmung um eine kritische Inventur und Aktualisierung der Bauhausideen. Dabei waren Forscher wie der Stanford-Professor Fred Turner, aber auch KünstlerInnen wie Morehshin Allahyari, Shaina Anand und Paloma Strelitz, Architekten wie Reinier de Graaf von OMA oder die WissenschaftlerInnen Orit Halpern, Denisa Kera und Jussi Parikka zu Gast.


Ilkin Akpinar

Ilkin Akpinar ist Stipendiatin der Sto Stiftung und des ARCH+ Vereins. Foto: Sto-Stiftung / ARCH+
Ilkin Akpinar ist Stipendiatin der Sto Stiftung und des ARCH+ Vereins. Foto: Sto-Stiftung / ARCH+

Über Ilkin Akpinar

Ilkin Akpinar studierte Architektur an der TU Berlin, wo sie 2016 als Studentische Hilfskraft bei Stefanie Bürkles Ausstellungsprojekt „Migrating Spaces“ im Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin und der Salt Galerie in Istanbul tätig war.

Rückfragen beantwortet gerne

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA