Please select language
Back to the overview

Review | Marcelo Ferraz at the November Talks 2017 in Paris

22.02.2018

Impressions and rational elements


As a native of Brazil, a country with radical cultures, Marcelo Ferraz had already established a close connection to the past in his first drawings. Inspired by travel reports and engravings by Theodor de Bry, which tell of cannibalistic tribes, the avant-gardism of Diego Rivera or the bold modernism of Oscar Niemeyer, Marcelo developed a style with a characteristic feature: the balance of tradition and breaking with the past.


Constructed architecture does not exist without context, which could be defined as the organic sum of culture, knowledge, locations and resources. It is the innate wealth of a country that one can make use of when putting in the effort of seeing, hearing and understanding it. There is a typically Brazilian concept of heritage that can be described using the words of Lucio Costa: “A harmonious coexistence of epochs, materials, cultures, traditions…” Heritage is the legacy of humans – shaped by their riches and suffering – and to honour it is both an act of remembrance as well as one of forgetting.


In this regard, Marcelo’s meeting with Lina Bo Bardi in 1977 was a crucial event. At the time, the latter had begun the construction of SESC Pompeia, which she completed in 1982. An interplay of relentless accuracy of volumes and the irregularity of openings, the strictness of rough concrete bridges and the markings of the timber formwork, a new brutalism at the intersection of tradition and rationality, of craftsmanship and precision. In this case, the architectural poetry seemed to be the result of imperfection.


Because Marcelo Ferraz understands architecture as a type of work with impressions and rational elements. All architects can draw a rational plan, but how many of them are able to provide it with a sense of indescribable detailed work, from the effort of selecting materials or the type of implementation? How many of them can manage to create this subtle dialogue between the historic essence of a place and current needs? Just like Carlo Scarpa, Marcelo grapples with history and ensures its continuity by allowing it to become part of his work. His humility toward history provides his architecture with the picturesque character of local buildings, his avant-gardism and modernism provide it with constructive rationality, and the means of implementation provides it with a subtle imperfectness that is viewed as an homage to craftsmanship and manual labour.


Brazil is a gigantic, unstable country. Marcelo and his agency take jobs in all parts of the country which, in some cases, require a new approach. The projects presented as part of the lecture make clear which enormous attention has been dedicated to the context, the many challenges and the solutions that the agency of Ferraz developed in order to meet them.


Cultural challenges.


Visitors of the Bread Museum are experiencing an interplay of materials. This project was about the renovation of a mill built by an Italian family that wanted to establish a timber business in Brazil. In this case, Marcelo Ferraz used wood, glass, fabric, concrete and stone that were exclusively manufactured locally. The architecture adapts to the traditional local context.


Dialogue between old and new.


The Pampa Museum is another example of the continuity between past and present. As much of the former military building as possible was retained, and the new building part was added to it. Cast concrete covered with wooden slats comes into contact with the massive stones of the arsenal and thereby creates strong visual impressions thanks to the contrast of materials of a different nature.


Using traditional know-how


The seat of the Instituto Socioambiental (ISA) is another homage to local traditions. In this project, the architect relied on the participation of the local population for the completion of the roof of the building, which consists of woven bamboo, vines and twigs. The same holds true for his best-known project, the Praça Das Artes cultural centre. Here, he asked craftsmen to equip the common rooms with a fabric cover and chandeliers. In this case, Ferraz took up something universal: the immanent riches of old, deeply rooted traditions in the service of a mixed project. Old cultures meet modern awareness.


While the idea of a tabula rasa is very tempting for modern, contemporary architecture, Marcelo Ferraz and his agency decided to pursue the opposite: A construction project is not some insignificant act, and it has to be implemented intelligently and with modesty. The architecture of the agency Brazil Arquitetura Studio is visionary because it is not just aware of the current challenges and the development of its country, but it also features an astute memory that respects the past. Brazil is a country on the move – halfway between its thousand-year roots and its complete industrialisation: So it chose the best of each and accepted the advantages and drawbacks of both. And that might be the secret of the visual, symbolic power of the architecture of Marcelo Ferraz. Maybe expressing timelessness requires a different vision of time – one that is no longer viewed as a series of events, but rather as a network, as Lina Bo Bardi said: “Linear time is a Western invention; time is not linear, it is a marvellous tangle where at any moment points can be selected and solutions invented without beginning or end.”

yt_mf

Interview with Marcelo Ferraz

The Video can be found on our YouTube-Channel.

Please direct queries to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

zurück zur Übersicht

Nachbericht | Marcelo Ferraz bei der November Reihe 2017 in Paris

22.02.2018

Eindrücke und rationale Elemente


Als Sohn Brasiliens, einem Land mit radikalen Kulturen, stellte Marcelo Ferraz bereits in seinen ersten Zeichnungen einen engen Bezug zur Geschichte her. Inspiriert von den Reiseberichten und Stichen von Theodor de Bry, die von kannibalischen Völkern erzählen, vom Avantgardismus eines Diego Rivera oder der kühnen Modernität von Oscar Niemeyer entwickelte Marcelo einen Stil mit einem charakteristischen Merkmal: dem ausgewogenen Gleichgewicht zwischen Bruch und Kontinuität mit der Vergangenheit.


Konstruierte Architektur existiert nicht ohne Kontext, den man als eine organische Summe von Kultur, Wissen, Orten und Ressourcen definieren könnte, die den ureigenen Reichtum eines Landes darstellen, den man nutzen kann, wenn man sich die Mühe macht, ihn zu sehen, zu hören und zu verstehen. Es gibt eine typisch brasilianische Vorstellung von einem Erbe, die man mit den Worten von Lucio Costa umschreiben könnte: „Eine harmonische Koexistenz von Epochen, Materialien, Kulturen, Traditionen…“.


In dieser Hinsicht war die Begegnung Marcelos mit Lina Bo Bardi im Jahr 1977 ein einschneidendes Ereignis. Diese begann damals mit dem Bau des SESC Pompeia, den sie 1982 fertig stellte. Ein Zusammenspiel zwischen der unerbittlichen Genauigkeit der Volumen und der Unregelmäßigkeit der Öffnungen, der Strenge der Raubetonbrücken und der Markierung der Holzschalungen, ein neuer Brutalismus am Kreuzungspunkt von Tradition und Rationalität, von Handarbeit und Präzision.


Marcelo Ferraz versteht Architektur als eine Arbeit mit Eindrücken und rationalen Elementen. Alle Architekten können einen rationalen Plan zeichnen, doch wie viele sind in der Lage, ihm eine Vorstellung von der unbeschreiblichen Detailarbeit, vom Aufwand der Materialauswahl oder der Art der Umsetzung einzuhauchen? Wie vielen gelingt es, diesen subtilen Dialog zwischen dem historischen Wesen eines Ortes und den heutigen Bedürfnissen herzustellen?


Die Demut vor der Geschichte verleiht Ferraz‘ Architektur den pittoresken Charakter der einheimischen Bauwerke, sein Avantgardismus und Modernismus die konstruktive Rationalität, und die Mittel der Umsetzung eine subtile Unvollkommenheit, die sich als Hommage an das Handwerk und die Handarbeit versteht.


Brasilien ist ein riesiges, instabiles Land. Marcelo Ferraz und seine Agentur übernahmen Aufträge in allen Teilen des Landes, was bei jedem Projekt einen neuen Ansatz erforderte.


Kulturelle Herausforderungen


Im Bread Museum erlebt der Besucher ein Zusammenspiel von Materialien. Bei dem Projekt ging es um die Renovierung einer von einer italienischen Familie errichteten Mühle, die in Brasilien einen Holzhandel aufbauen wollte. Marcelo Ferraz verarbeitet hier Holz, Glas, Stoff, Beton und Stein, die ausnahmslos vor Ort hergestellt wurden. Die Architektur passt sich dem traditionellen lokalen Kontext an.


Dialog zwischen Alt und Neu


Ein Beispiel für die Kontinuität zwischen Vergangenheit und Gegenwart ist auch das Pampa Museum. Von dem ehemaligen Militärgebäude wurde so viel wie möglich erhalten und der neue Teil angebaut. Mit Holzlatten verschalter Schüttbeton kommt hier mit den massiven Steinen des Waffenarsenals in Kontakt und erzeugt so starke visuelle Eindrücke durch den Kontrast zwischen Materialien verschiedener Beschaffenheit.


Nutzung von überliefertem Know-how


Eine weitere Hommage an lokale Traditionen ist der Sitz des Instituto Socioambiental (ISA), bei dem der Architekt auf die Mitwirkung der örtlichen Bevölkerung angewiesen war, um das aus Bambus, Lianen und Zweigen geflochtene Dach des Gebäudes herzustellen. Dasselbe gilt für sein bekanntestes Projekt, das Kulturzentrum Praça Das Artes, dessen Gemeinschaftssäle er von Handwerkern mit Stoffverkleidungen und Kronleuchtern ausstatten ließ. Ferraz knüpft hier an etwas Universelles an: den immanenten Reichtum alter, tief verwurzelter Traditionen im Dienst eines Mischprojekts. Eine Begegnung früherer Kulturen mit einem modernen Bewusstsein.


Während die Idee von der Tabula rasa für die moderne, zeitgenössische Architektur sehr verlockend ist, haben sich Marcelo Ferraz und seine Agentur für das Gegenteil entschieden: Ein Bauvorhaben ist kein unbedeutender Akt, es muss mit Intelligenz und Bescheidenheit umgesetzt werden. Die Architektur der Agentur Brasil Arquitetura Studio ist visionär, denn sie ist sich nicht nur der aktuellen Herausforderungen und der Entwicklung ihres Landes bewusst, sondern verfügt auch über ein scharfsinniges Gedächtnis, das die Vergangenheit respektiert. Brasilien ist ein Land im Aufbruch auf halbem Weg zwischen seinen tausendjährigen Wurzeln und seiner vollständigen Industrialisierung: Also wählt es das Beste von beidem aus und akzeptiert die Vorzüge und Fehler beider Seiten. Hierin besteht vielleicht das Geheimnis der visuellen, symbolischen Kraft der Architektur von Marcelo Ferraz. Zeitlosigkeit zum Ausdruck zu bringen, erfordert vielleicht eine andere Vision der Zeit, die nicht mehr als eine Folge von Ereignissen, sondern als Netzwerk verstanden wird, wie Lina Bo Bardi sagte: „Linear time is a Western invention; time is not linear, it is a marvellous tangle where at any moment points can be selected and solutions invented without beginning or end.“

yt_mf

Interview mit Marcelo Ferraz

Das Video finden Sie auf dem YouTube-Kanal der Stiftung.

Rückfragen beantwortet gerne

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA