Please select language
Back to the overview

Interior Scholarship | Blog 01/2017 | Nina Kaul

20.12.2017

Five months of practical experience in an architecture office in western India


At the start of November, I travelled by plane to western India. Ahmedabad is the fifth-largest city in India and is located in the state of Gujarat. It is hot, colourful and noisy. Horn honking is common on the roads and staring does not appear to be considered impolite. In the early days in my accommodation, I still unsuccessfully attempted to supply myself with food and get from A to B- During the day I sit in a strongly air-conditioned office on the 11th floor of Blocher Partners India, learn new CAD programmes, calculate the square metres of the living area for a private residence with 14 bathrooms or visit a construction site in the desert city of Bhuj.


The contrasts in India's society are just as pronounced. In the mornings, when I travel by rickshaw on the overcrowded highway past shopping centres, hospitals and hotels to my office, I see families on the roadside that will be having an entirely different day. Men sleep with their heads resting on the kerbside, while women make fires and the children wash themselves. There are people providing any service you could conceivably imagine, and most of the time these jobs are double-staffed. A man pushes the button in a lift, women sweep sand from one side of the street to another, four security guards give friendly nods and chai tea is served at the desk. There is also plenty of hustle and bustle in my accommodation with people coming in and going out to do various activities, or to catch a glimpse of the new German tenant under her mosquito net. Many citizens have never seen a person from the West and are very curious as a result; they ask about my origins and name. A selfie is also a must! In India, a mobile phone is absolutely essential - almost nothing gets done without one.


As expected, I encounter cows every day in traffic – and every now and again a camel pulling a wooden cart or a brightly coloured temple elephant. From the window to my accommodation's garden, I can hear peacocks and monkeys screeching - as well as men spitting loudly. And let's not forget the music: This time of year is the "wedding season", and no night goes by without traditional music and fireworks. I have already had the privilege of attending a wedding celebration, and I hope to see several more. People dance exuberantly and joyfully here, and always without alcohol, since Gujarat is a "dry state".


Ahmedabad seems to attract many architects. Only recently, the 600-year-old historic city with its carved wooden houses, mosques and temples was declared a UNESCO World Heritage site. The modern architectural history was shaped by Le Corbusier, Louis Kahn and Doshi. While working in the office, it becomes clear that the country and climate demand that things are done differently here than in the West. Large, open buildings are designed that play with atriums and the shade. Cool, smooth surfaces made of marble or sandstone are preferred.



Nina Kaul

Nina Kaul is the winner of the Interior Scholarship of AIT and the Sto Foundation. Photo: Sto Foundation / AIT
Nina Kaul is the winner of the Interior Scholarship of AIT and the Sto Foundation. Photo: Sto Foundation / AIT

About Nina Kaul

Nina Kaul was born and raised in Braunschweig, Germany. While she was at school, her artistic appetite was whetted by her participation in the "art for students" talent promotion. After graduating from high school in 2011, she embarked upon her interior design studies at the Burg Giebichenstein art university, Halle (Saale). Thanks to her university course as well as various internships before and during her studies in a carpentry workshop, an interior design office, at Volkswagen Immobilien Marketing, as an artist and as a production design assistant, Nina was able to improve her skills in numerous different areas. In 2016, she designed a stand for the Premium Fashion Week Berlin and then implemented it. In 2017, she provided a logo design for a small Hamburg-based company.

Please direct queries to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

zurück zur Übersicht

Interior Scholarship | Blog 01/2017 | Nina Kaul

20.12.2017

Fünf Monate Praxiserfahrung in einem Architekturbüro im Westen Indiens


Anfang November bin ich mit dem Flugzeug im Westen von Indien gelandet. Ahmedabad ist die fünftgrößte Stadt Indiens und liegt in Gujarat. Es ist heiß, es ist bunt, es ist laut. Hupen ist ein gängiges Verkehrskonzept und Starren scheint nicht unhöflich zu sein. Während ich in den ersten Tagen in meiner Unterkunft noch vergeblich herauszufinden versuche, mich mit Essen zu versorgen oder von A nach B zu kommen, sitze ich tagsüber im stark klimatisierten Büro im 11. Stock von Blocher Partners India, lerne neue CAD Programme, berechne die Quadratmeter der Wohnfläche für eine Privatresidenz mit 14 Badezimmern und besuche eine Baustelle in der Wüstenstadt Bhuj.


Ebenso groß sind die Kontraste in Indiens Gesellschaft. Wenn ich morgens mit der Rikscha über den überfüllten Highway entlang der Malls, Krankenhäuser und Hotels ins Büro fahre, leben die Familien am Straßenrand ihren ganz anderen Alltag. Männer schlafen mit dem Kopf an der Bordsteinkante, Frauen machen Feuer und Kinder waschen sich. Für jede erdenkliche Serviceleistung gibt es Personal, meistens sogar doppelt besetzt. Ein Herr drückt die Knöpfe im Fahrstuhl, Frauen fegen Sand von der einen zur anderen Seite der Straße, vier Sicherheitsmänner nicken einem freundlich zu und der Chai wird an den Schreibtisch serviert. Auch in meiner Unterkunft herrscht ein reges Treiben an Personen, die ein und ausgehen, um die ein oder andere Tätigkeit zu verrichten oder um die neue Mieterin der Societey aus Deutschland unter ihrem Moskitonetz einmal betrachten zu können. Viele Landsleute haben noch nie eine Person aus dem Westen gesehen und sind sehr neugierig, fragen nach meiner Herkunft und meinem Namen. Ein Selfie darf natürlich nicht fehlen. Sowieso scheint das Handy in Indien sehr wichtig - ohne geht fast gar nichts.


Wie erwartet begegnen mir im Straßenverkehr täglich Kühe, ab und zu ein Kamel, das einen Holzkarren zieht oder ein bunt bemalter Tempelelefant. Durch das Fenster zu dem Garten meiner Unterkunft höre ich Pfauen und Affen kreischen - und laut spuckende Männer. Nicht zu vergessen die Musik: Um diese Jahreszeit ist Wedding Season und es vergeht keine Nacht ohne traditionelle Musik und Feuerwerk. Ich durfte bereits Gast einer Hochzeitsfeier sein und ich hoffe es werden noch einige mehr folgen. Hier wird sehr ausgelassen und fröhlich getanzt und das natürlich immer ohne Alkohol, denn Gujarat ist ein „Dry State“.


Ahmedabad scheint viele Architekten anzuziehen. Erst kürzlich wurde die 600 Jahre alte Altstadt mit ihren geschnitzten Holzhäusern, Moscheen und Tempeln zum UNESCO Weltkulturerbe erklärt. Die moderne Architekturgeschichte prägten Le Corbusier, Louis Kahn und Doshi. Bei der Arbeit im Büro ist zu spüren, dass Land und Klima nach anderen Parametern verlangen als im Westen. Es werden große offene Gebäude entworfen und mit Lichthöfen und Schatten gespielt. Präferiert werden kühle, glatte Oberflächen aus Marmor oder Sandstein


Nina Kaul

sto_stiftung_nina_kaul_c_ait
Nina Kaul ist Gewinnerin des Interior Scholarship von AIT und Sto-Stiftung. Foto: Sto-Stiftung / AIT

Über Nina Kaul


Nina Kaul wurde in Braunschweig geboren, wo sie auch aufgewachsen ist. Während ihrer Schulzeit wurde ihr künstlerischer Blickwinkel durch die Teilnahme an der Talentförderung Kunst für Schüler geschärft. Nach ihrem Abitur 2011 begann sie ihr Studium der Innenarchitektur an der Kunsthochschule Burg Giebichenstein/Halle (Saale). Durch ihr Studium und verschiedene Praktika vor und während ihres Studiums in einer Tischlerei, einem Innenarchitekturbüro, bei Volkswagen Immobilien Marketing, einem Künstler und als Szenenbild-Assistenz konnte Nina ihre Fähig- und Fertigkeiten in zahlreichen unterschiedlichen Bereichen weiter ausbauen. 2016 entwarf sie zur Premium Fashion Week Berlin einen Messestand und setzte diesen um. 2017 folgte ein Logo-Entwurf für ein kleines Hamburger Unternehmen.

Rückfragen beantwortet gern

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA